Skip to main content

FILM 356: History Of American Television: Scholarly Articles

Articles in discoverE

The Articles tab in discoverE allow you to search for articles in multiple databases at once. Under "Look for my Query," try selecting Performing Arts or Academic Search Complete. For more control over the search process and the results you retrieve, try searching in one of the online databases listed on this page. 

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Recommended Databases for Film & Media Articles

The Databases @ Emory page contains a broad selection of databases which may contain film and media-related articles. Some of the most useful citation databases and indexes for television are listed below. Depending on your specific research topic, other subject categories you might consider are Journalism, US History, Political Science (especially for public policy) and Business.

 

TRY THESE DATABASES FIRST

Communication and Mass Media Complete provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with other journals.

Factiva is an excellent source for business coverage. It also includes coverage of newspapers such as the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the Wall Street Journal.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences (primarily economics, anthropology, sociology, public health, and political science), going back to 1915. To acquire results prior to 1960, be sure to change the first part of your date range to "earliest."

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322