Skip to main content

FILM 356: History Of American Television: Atlanta Newspapers

Atlanta Newspaper Research Guide

The Woodruff Library's Atlanta Newspaper Guide offers an excellent overview on accessing and using Atlanta-based newspapers, an important research component for your class project. For additional help with using these newspapers, contact Erica Bruchko, the subject librarian for U.S. History and American Studies.

Access to Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Journal, and Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Although both newspapers have had common ownership since 1950, the ATLANTA CONSTITUTION and ATLANTA JOURNAL did not merge their news operations until 1982, and for the next two decades the two papers continued separate publication, with the following exceptions:

  • 1950-1976:  combined edition published on Sundays
  • 1976-2001:  combined edition published on Saturdays as well as Sundays

As of November 5, 2001, the two papers finally became one daily under the name ATLANTA JOURNAL-CONSTITUTION.

ONLINE ACCESS:

Coverage: 1868-1984
This is the only place to access the Constitution online prior to 1985. Includes some issues of the "Sunday Constitution Magazine" between 1930 and 1939.
 
Coverage: 1990-
Once in database, click on “Select multiple databases” link to specifically choose the “Atlanta Journal & Constitution”. Database refers to "ATLANTA JOURNAL-CONSTITUTION" even prior to the 2001 merger of the two papers. Articles reproduced in HTML format; photos, graphics, some articles are excluded. The microfilm and print versions of the newspaper have ALL content.
 
Coverage: 1985-
Refers to "ATLANTA JOURNAL-CONSTITUTION" even prior to the 2001 merger of the two papers. Articles reproduced in HTML format; photos, graphics, some articles are excluded.  The microfilm and print versions of the newspaper have ALL content.
 
Coverage: 1986-
Refers to "ATLANTA JOURNAL AND CONSTITUTION" even prior to the 2001 merger of the two papers. Articles reproduced in HTML format; photos, graphics, some articles are excluded.  The microfilm and print versions of the newspaper have ALL content.
 
Coverage: 1991-  
Refers to "ATLANTA JOURNAL AND CONSTITUTION" even prior to the 2001 merger of the two papers. Articles reproduced in HTML format; photos, graphics, some articles are excluded.  The microfilm and print versions of the newspaper have ALL content.
 
Coverage: 1985-
Searching in this AJC database is free BUT there is a fee to access full text of articles.  Emory and on-site researchers have FREE access via Factiva and Lexis/Nexis Academic (see above) to all but 1985 articles indexed in The Stacks, BUT you can use this database to search for references to 1985 articles and then find the full text in our microfilm holdings. The Stacks is also a good resource for non-Emory researchers, and their staff will also perform research for a fee - see their Information Services page for details.
 
Coverage: Daily paper, 60 days of back files.
Full-color reproductions of the print daily available for browsing, BUT only 5 members of the Emory community can view silmultaneously. 

 

PRINT ACCESS:

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Coverage: Current issues only (approximately past two months) - replaced by microfilm (see below)
Call number:  N/A
Location:  Newspaper Room
 
Atlanta Weekly (previously called ATLANTA JOURNAL MAGAZINE and ATLANTA JOURNAL AND CONSTITUTION MAGAZINE)
Coverage:  1912-1982?
Call number:  AP2 .A8
Location:  Storage Library
Content notes: In 1912 the ATLANTA JOURNAL inititated the first Sunday magazine in a Southern newspaper.  The ATLANTA JOURNAL MAGAZINE published articles concerning Atlanta, Georgia and the Southeast authored by notable writers including Gone With the Wind author Margaret Mitchell.  When the JOURNAL and CONSTITUTION initiated a combined Sunday edition in 1950, the Sunday magazine changed its name to the ATLANTA JOURNAL AND CONSTITUTION MAGAZINE, and subsequently to the ATLANTA WEEKLY in 1980.

 

MICROFILM ACCESS:

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Coverage: Nov. 5, 2001-
Call number:  MICFILM 5
Location:  Microforms Collection, Level 1
 
Atlanta Journal
Coverage: Feb. 24, 1883-Nov. 4, 2001
Call number:  MICFILM 5
Location:  Microforms Collection, Level 1
Content notes: Called EVENING JOURNAL, 1887-1889. Some weekend editions issued in combination with the ATLANTA CONSTITUTION, 1950-2001.
 
Atlanta Constitution
Coverage: June 17, 1868-Nov. 4, 2001
Call number:  MICFILM 4
Location:  Microforms Collection, Level 1
Content notes: Some weekend editions issued in combination with the ATLANTA JOURNAL, 1950-2001.
 
Atlanta Weekly
Coverage: 1912-1982?
Call number:  MICFILM 4 and MICFILM 5
Location:  Microforms Collection, Level 1
Content notes: Issues of the ATLANTA JOURNAL MAGAZINE and the ATLANTA CONSTITUION MAGAZINE MAY have been filmed with ATLANTA JOURNAL and the ATLANTA CONSTITUTION.
 
 
 

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322