Skip to main content
Banner Image

Emory Libraries Technical Services: Home

Technical Services news, events, reports, links

Mission

Emory Libraries Technical Services operations enable the acquisition, discovery of  and access to print and electronic resources serving a variety of customers and patrons within the Emory University community by providing the following products and services. 

Emory Libraries Technical Services Products

  • ALMA/PRIMO bibliographic content
  • Full-level RDA-compliant cataloging 
  • Holdings and location data for patron access to collections
  • Automated authority control services for all Emory libraries
  • Vendor approval and shelf-ready plans 
  • Vendor cataloging records for electronic & selected print materials
  • Online selection & ordering services
  • Online documentation of local policies and procedures
  • Electronic resource management for ejournals, databases, streaming video and subscribed e-content in any format
  • Print serials check-in, cataloging, holdings maintenance, binding, renewals and cancellations

 

Order Services

  • Orders created & funds encumbered for firm order monographs and physical media
  • Invoices created and receipts verified for accounts payable
  • Manage approval plans
  • Manage shelf-ready plans
  • Process online selection and ordering for collection management liaisons
  • Perform order record loading into ILS system
  • Process claims and replacement of lost materials

Metadata Services

  • Create original/complex copy cataloging in all formats
  • Manage automated authority control service (BLSW MARS) with ongoing authorities maintenance
  • Catalog all monographs wtih Library of Congress or OCLC member-contributed records in OCLC WorldCat
  • Load bibliographic records into ILS for new acquired e-monograph resources
  • Manage vendor cataloging services for Music, media, and Spanish-language original cataloging
  • Maintain bibliographic, holding and item records for Woodruff library resources
  • Provide cataloging and descriptive metadata services to Digitization and Rose Library
  • Catalog materials received through Federal Depository Program in all formats

Bibliographic Maintenance

  • Rush & expedited cataloging for requested in-process materials
  • Rush order processing for urgently-needed resources
  • Database quality control, record correction, cleanup projects as prioritized by Content Division, location changes
  • Physical processing including binding and labeling for print and physical media

 

Electronic & Continuing Resources Services

  • Serial orders and subscriptions for print and electronic continuations, databases, streaming media, etc.
  • Print serials cataloging, check-in, holdings maintenance and binding
  • ALMA Electronic Resource Management (ERM) 
  • E-Resource support directly to customers via Listserv
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322