►What is a Primary Source?
Original, first-hand account of an event or time period
Usually written or made during or close to the event or time period
Original, creative writing or works of art
Factual, not interpretive
EXAMPLES OF PRIMARY SOURCES
Diaries, journals, and letters
Newspaper and magazine articles (factual accounts)
Government records (census, congressional reports, marriage, military)
Photographs, maps, postcards, posters
Recorded or transcribed speeches
Interviews with participants or witnesses (e.g., The Civil Right Movement)
Interviews with people who lived during a particular time (e.g., genocide in Rwanda)
Songs, Plays, novels, stories
Paintings, drawings, and sculptures
What is a Secondary Source?
Analyzes and interprets primary sources
Second-hand account of an historical event
Interprets creative work
EXAMPLES OF SECONDARY SOURCES
Book, Art, and Theater Reviews
Newspaper articles that interpret
Sabin Americana Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is a fully searchable online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Latin America Print Confidential 1833-1969 The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, cover the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s
The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic LIterature (1450-1850) This database is a collection of legal and literary publications from the mid-fifteenth to the mid-eighteenth century.
World Scholar Latin America Archive Database contains over 1 million pages of primary source material dealing with Latin America. The materials come from both the colonial and national periods. Click on the Historical Collections tab for the complete list of collections
Archivo Historico del Arzobispado de México This image database contains 9550 documents and 319 books related to the administration of the archdiocese of Mexico during the colonial period. The AHAM include three major record sets: Fondo Episcopal, Fondo Cabildo, and Fondo Juzgado Eclesiástico de Toluca.