Skip to main content

HIST 360 Mexico: Aztecs to Narcos: Articles Secondary Sources

This guide is designed to assist students with their research for Professor Yannakakis's Fall 2017 course

Start Here

Academic Search Complete  
This database is a great place to start your research.  It contains articles from both scholarly and non-scholarly (i.e. popular) journals. This database covers a wide variety of subjects from the Humanities, Social Sciences, Medicine and Physical Sciences

Article Databases

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volumes 1 (1936) through 49 (1989)

 

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volume 50 (1990) onward

1936 to present

This online bibliography provides citations in the humanities and social sciences for monographs and periodical articles pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean. The annual print volume of this title alternates between the humanities and social sciences and can be found at Z1605.H3.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970 to present

HAPI is the major index to periodical articles about Latin America and the Caribbean. HAPI covers all fields from popular topics to current events to history, literature, sciences and social sciences. The 500 source journals are in Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Some citations contain links to the full-text version of the article. The print version of this index can be found at AI3 .H58.

Historical Abstracts is one of the two primary databases for History; indexes articles, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.

Full Text Databases

JSTOR
Provides the full-text of articles from the backfiles of a vast number of scholarly journals. There are no recent articles in (the most current five years). You can limit your search to just education journals.

Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

 

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322