Skip to main content

China: Anthropological Perspectives (ANT 280)

Dr. Jenny Chio, Spring 2013

International Development

China Data Online
A collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics. Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities. Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

WHO World Health Organization Country Profiles
Lists basic health information and statistics as well as basic demographic statistics about each country.

Europa World Plus
Great place to get a summary of recent history/events in a country. Covers political and economic information for over 250 countries and territories.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences.

HURISEARCH (Human Rights Information and Documentation System)
Portal to quality human rights information on the web. A web research tool that increases the visibility of information published by human rights organizations, in particular small local organizations with first-hand information. Provides direct access to the content of over 3000 human rights websites and filters out the non-relevant content: only the pages from websites with a main focus on human rights are indexed. Includes over 50 languages. Includes health information.

News

News sources from your country can provide the local perspective on an issue.

China Core Newspaper Database
Provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.

Factiva
Similar to Lexis-Nexis Academic, Factiva is primarily a news database. You can search approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages (as well as 9,000 Web sites). Great for getting the local perspective on your issue by reading the local newspapers from countries around the world.

World News Connection
A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322