Skip to main content

Basic Problems in Philosophy: Moral Psychology: Finding Books and Articles

Philosophy 100

Indexes

Full Text Databases

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

Alerts in PsycINFO

How to Set up Search Alerts in PsycINFO 

1.Open the PsycINFO database.

2.On the main search page, go to the upper right corner and select Sign in.

3.On the left side of the page, select Create a New Account.

4.Fill out the information and select, Save Changes.

5.You will be directed back to the search page. Conduct a PsycINFO search using the search terms that you want to use for your alert.

6.On the Search Results listing page, select the option in the blue bar at the top of the results, Alert/Save/Share.

7.Select E-mail Alert.

8.Beside E-mail to, type your email address.

9.Adjust the General Settings for Frequency, Results format, and Articles published within the last

10.Select the Save Alert button.

Searching For Books In discoverE

From the Catalog tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.

Too many search results?

  • Add additional terms to your search
  • Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using discoverE's drop-down menus
  • Use discoverE's "Refine Search Results" feature (in the left column) 

Too few results?

  • Remove some terms from your search
  • Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)

Off-topic results?

Consult the discoverE help page for further tips.

Find Peer-Reviewed Empirical Articles Using PsycINFO

PubMed Simple Subject Search

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322