Skip to main content

Chinese-African Relations: Books

Information resources related to Chinese interests in Africa.

Selected Titles

HC800 .B73 2009

Deborah Bautigam is a leading authority on Chinese-African relations. Published by Oxford University Press. Check out Deborah Bautigam's blog, China in Africa: The RealStory.

 

 

DS740.5.A34 S55 2012 also online. Examines all facets of China's relationship with each of the fifty-four African nations. University of Pennsylvania Press. Check out David H. Shinn's blog.

 

 DS753.6 .Z47 Z473 2005.China Intercontinental Press. 2005.

Zheng He was a famous Chinese Admiral during the Ming Dynesty.  From 1405-1433 Zheng commanded  a large fleet which undertook seven voyages exploring the Indian Ocean including east Africa. This was the frist known contact between China and Africa.

 

HE3243 .M66 2008 by Jamie Monson.  Indiana University Press. 2009.

Built by the Chinese during the Cold War,  TAZARA (Tanzania Zambia Railway Authority), or Freedom Railway, runs  from Dar es Salaam on the Tanzanian coast to the Copperbelt region of Zambia. .

Search for Books

Using discoverE, you will find books on the historical relationshops between China and Africa, e.g. China and Africa in the Middle Ages (DT38.9 .C5 F513 ), as well as current events.

Some sample subject headings:

Africa -- Relations -- China ; China -- Relations -- Africa

Africa, Sub-Saharan -- Foreign economic relations -- China:  China -- Foreign economic relations -- Africa, Sub-Saharan ;

Africa -- Foreign relations -- China ; China -- Foreign relations -- Africa

Economic assistance, Chinese -- Africa

Investments, Chinese -- Africa, Sub-Saharan

Locating Books Beyond Emory

 

Multi-Library Catalogs

COPAC
A merged catalog of 22 of the largest university research libraries in the United Kingdom and Ireland plus the British Library. Includes Oxford University (and Rhodes House Library) and Cambridge University.


WorldCat

A comprehensive catalog of items held by a wide-range of libraries including research and public institutions. Searchable by author, title and subject. Covers other formats beyond books but does not index journal articles.

Important Individual Library Catalogs

 

British Library is the national library of the United Kingdom and its web site contains extensive information about the library's rich Africana collection.

 

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL is large collection of over 5 million items of infrequently used researched materials. It is strong for foreign doctoral dissertations, newspapers, and microfilm collections supporting area studies. Many, but not all, collections can be located through the  CRL catalog ..


Herskovits Library at Northwestern
Established in 1954, the Herskovits Library is one of the largest separate Africana collections in the world, holding over 250,000 volumes, 2500 serials as well as an extensive collection of newspapers, maps and unique materials. The collection includes over 10,000 volumes in African languages. The holdings of the Library are accessible through NUcat, the University's online catalog. NUcat also includes the Africana Conference Paper Index, a searchable database to their large collection of conference procedures. Other large collections of Africana in the United States are found at Berkeley, Boston University, Univ. of Florida, Hoover Institution, Indiana University, Michigan State University, Stanford, UCLA, Wisconsin, and Yale.

 

Library of Congress - Africa Section
The Africa Section is the focal point of the Library's reference and bibliographic service for Sub-Saharan Africa. Africana holdings are integrated into the general collections and other special collections of the Library. For both historical and contemporary research studies, the Library's collections are substantial, including sources in every major field of study in the social sciences and in the humanities. Holdings include invaluable primary source documents, facsimiles, and secondary sources.SEE ALSO Africana Collections Illustrated Guide

 

SOAS: School of Oriental and Asian Studies
Houses over 1.2 million volumes with significant archival holdings and special collections for the study of Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.

Contact InterLibrary Loan to borrow books not at Emory. If books are available at local academic institutions (University of Georgia, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia State University) you may be able to borrow with your Emory ID card.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322