Skip to main content

Chinese-African Relations: Articles

Information resources related to Chinese interests in Africa.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory sources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

TIPS for using Google Scholar

New! From GoogleScholar: Copy-and-paste formatted citations from search results.

Does APA, MLA and Chicago styles as of 11/2012.

Sample Articles

Special Issue: New Development Encounters: China and Brazil in African Agriculture, IDS Bulletin, Issue 4, July 2013. TOC

Of interest: "Dispelling the Myths of China's Presence in Africa," IDN News, Fall 2013. Report on the discussions on Africa in "Forum on US-China Relations" sponsored by the Carter Center’s China Program and Emory University’s Halle Institute, Nov. 10-12, 2013.

Databases

Major African Databases:

Africa Bibliography. Beginning in 2011 published by Cambridge University Press and full file searchable (Emory only) Ref Z3503 A34  Manchester, England: Manchester University Press, 1984-.2010. Annual.
Covering mainly the social sciences and humanities, this extensive annual listing of books, essays, and articles offers the latest publications in African studies (entire continent).

Africa-Wide: NiPAD (Emory only)
Includes 17 databases from three continents resulting in a database of 634,000 references (some with abstracts). Includes books, periodical articles, maps and musical recordings. Among the databases included are IBICUS (development information from Francophone Africa) African Studies Abstracts (and its earlier title) from 1988, and the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa from 1989. Updated quarterly.

Major Chinese Databases (English):

Bibliography of Asian Studies (Emory only)

Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971.  The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

 

General:

Academic Search Complete (Emory only)
Indexes scholarly journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education as well as major daily newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. Full-text is available from 1990. Spanish version also available.

JSTOR (Emory only)
This is an important source for the full text of back runs of (no current issues) for major journals including African Affairs and Journal of African History. You can also search the collection by author, subject, etc

LEXIS NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE (Emory only)
This database provides access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

 

Specialized Subjects:

 

ABI/Inform Complete (at ProQuest)(Emory only) Business and economics.

EconLit with Full Text [EBSCOhost]: (Emory only) Economics

ELDIS:  Development.

Factiva: (Emory only) Businessand economics

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS:  (Emory only) World  history of the world from 1450 to the present.

PAIS INTERNATIONAL :(Emory only) A selective list of the latest books, pamphlets, government publication, reports of public and private agencies, and periodical articles relating to business, economic and social conditions, public administration, and international relations, published throughout the world.

Political Science Complete (Emory only) indexes over 2000 political science journals.

 

SEE ALSO Articles tab in African Studies Research Guide

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322