Skip to main content

Nelson Mandela: Articles

Exploring resources related to the life of Nelson Mandela.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory resources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Check out a video on using Google Scholar.

Even more info: what's included, search tips, getting metrics, etc.

Open Access Journals

Sabinet Open Access Journal Collection    OPEN 4 ACCESS

A multidisciplinary collection of South African full open access journals. Includes titles that are accredited by the DHET; full text availablity varies according to title with journals going back to 2000.

African E- Journals Project:  Includes a directory of journals as well as full text of 11 journals in the humanities and social sciences including:

African Sources

Africa Bibliography. Beginning in 2011 published by Cambridge University Press and full file searchable (Emory only)

Ref Z3503 A34

Manchester, England: Manchester University Press, 1984-. Annual.
Covering mainly the social sciences and humanities, this extensive annual listing of books, essays, and articles offers the latest publications in African studies (entire continent). Covers approximately 600 journals. Arrangement is geographical and by subject. Contains an author and subject index.

AfricaBib.Org (now maintained by Univ. of Leiden)
Africabib is a combination of databases providing access to periodical and other material on Africa.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD
Includes multiple databases from three continents resulting in a database of 3.2 million references (some with abstracts). Includes books, periodical articles, maps and musical recordings. Among the databases included are IBICUS (development information from Francophone Africa) African Studies Abstracts (and its earlier title) from 1988, and the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa from 1989.

All Africa.com

AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media content service provider, systems technology developer and the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide.

Other General Indexes

Political Science Complete indexes over 2000 political science journals.

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts includes information on articles indexed since 1970, and on books and dissertations from 1979.

JSTOR
This is an important source for the full text of back runs of (no current issues) for major journals including African Affairs and Journal of African History. You can also search the collection by author, subject, etc.

PAIS INTERNATIONAL
A selective list of the latest books, pamphlets, government publication, reports of public and private agencies, and periodical articles relating to business, economic and social conditions, public administration, and international relations, published throughout the world.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322