Skip to main content

Nelson Mandela: Websites

Exploring resources related to the life of Nelson Mandela.

Selected Mandela Websites

Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory. An important site. Contains news, photos and videos along with information on Nelson Mandela's life and work from the organisation working to keep his legacy alive.

.

Nelson Mandela from the SAHO, (South African History Online).

Nelson Mandela visiting Robben Island prison cell in 1994 from Nelson Mandela (BBC)

Nelson Mandela page of the ANC (African National Congress)

Selected Mandela Websites

Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory. An important site. Contains news, photos and videos along with information on Nelson Mandela's life and work from the organisation working to keep his legacy alive. See also the Google site and blog documenting their work digitzing the Mandela archives for this site. Of interest is the Centre's Flickr stream of  pictures.

Nelson Mandela (BBC), rich site from the British Broadcasting Corp. Also a site celebrating Mandela's 20 years of freedom.

Nelson Mandela (Official site of the Nobel Peace Prize) Mandela won the prize in 1993.

Nelson Mandela tag from the Mail & Guardian newspaper from South Africa. Also Nelson Mandela Tribute site which includes Historical News drawn from M&G newspaper since the 1980s.

Nelson Mandela from the SAHO, (South African History Online).

Nelson Mandela page of the ANC (African National Congress)

Nelson Mandela SABC (South African Broadcast Corp.)

Nelson Mandela: Web Dossier (African Studies Library, University of Leiden) contains an excellent bibliography and a link to a site on Mandela and the Netherlands

Times Topics: Nelson Mandela News about Nelson Mandela, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

Long Walk of Nelson Mandela, website to support Frontline video. PBS. (Video held by Music and Media Library V.CASS. VHS 6115)

Also of interest:

46664, is a non-profit which supports the humanitarian ideals of Nelson Mandala.  The name is taken from Nelson Mandela's cell on Robben Island.

Nelson Mandela International Day, July 18th was established by the United Nations as Nelson Mandela International Day in 2009. Support humanitarian activities which honor his vision.

The Elders, an independent group of global leaders who work together for peace and human rights. They were brought together in 2007 by Nelson Mandela, who is not an active member of the group but remains an Honorary Elder. Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter is a member of The Elders.

Nelson Mandela's Childrens Fund

Special Memorial Sites Honoring Mandela's Life:

Nelson Mandela: Life and Times (allAfrica.com)

Nelson Mandela (PBS NewsHour) with a special video tribute.

Nelson Mandela Poster Collection@ South African History Archive

Selected Mandela posters from the South African History Archive (SAHA). Check the SAHA site for additional Mandela materials.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322