Skip to main content

African Literature: Books/Full Text Electronic Resources

Heinemann African Writers Series

Things Fall Apart by by Chinua Achebe, 1962, launched the Heinemann African Writers Series

Africa Writes Back celebrates the 50th anniversary of the African Writers Series

 

Fully searchable electronic version of African Writers Series

Popular Literature: Nigeria

Onitsha Market Literature available to borrow from Center for Research Libraries

Onitsha market literature was a form of popular press in Nigeria consisting of indigenously published pamphlets that contained stories, plays, advice, moral discourses, and other forms of popular literature.  
 Guide

Electronic Resources

 

African Writers Series (Emory only)contains the full text of the Heinemann African Writers Series founded in 1962 to publish works by black African writers for an African readership. This series provides seminal works from the canon of African literature of the twentieth century, covering such authors as Steve Biko, Ama Ata Aidoo, and Buchi Emecheta. Texts are fully searchable and richly indexed. Author biographies are included.

Black Drama 1850-date (Emory only)
Provides the full text of 1200 plays by over 200 authors, including many African playwrights, many for the first time. Also has production details and biographical information on the playwrights.

Cambridge Histories Online and Cambridge Collections Online include full-text searchable versions of a number of Cambridge University Press publications related to African literature including the Cambridge Companion to the African Novel and the Cambridge History of African and Carribean Literature. (Emory only)


Dissertations and Theses (Full-Text) (Emory only)is a multi-disciplinary database that includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Most of the dissertations are from U.S., Canadian and some British universities. Dissertations are excellent sources of literature reviews as well as resources on their own. Helpful for more advanced research.

Searching For Books In discoverE

From the Catalog tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine My Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more

*Find something useful?  Click on title and look for the subject headings under "Details."  Click on these and  other books on the same subject .

* Too many search results? 

  • Add additional terms to your search
  • Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using discoverE's drop-down menus
  • Use discoverE's "Refine My Results" feature (in the left column) 

* Too few results?

  • Remove some terms from your search
  • Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)

* Off-topic results?

Consult the discoverE help page for further tips.

Sample subject headings:

African fiction -- History and criticism ; African literature -- History and criticism

African literature (English) -- 20th century -- History and criticism ; African literature (English) -- 21st century -- History and criticism

African literature (English) -- Bio-bibliography -- Dictionaries ; African literature (English) -- Dictionaries ; Authors, African -- Biography -- Dictionaries ; Africa -- In literature -- Dictionaries

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322