Skip to main content

FILM 506: Methods in Film and Media Studies: Dissertations and Theses

Starting Points for Dissertations and Theses

Emory Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) website: The Emory ETD database includes all Emory theses and dissertations produced as of 2008 by Emory College, Candler School of Theology, and the Laney Graduate School. For older theses and dissertations, see below.

Dissertations and Theses (Full-Text) ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Finding Dissertations @ Emory

What does Woodruff Library have?

Dissertations

Woodruff Library HAS dissertations written for the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Emory University.

Woodruff Library DOES NOT KEEP COPIES of dissertations from the following programs:

  • Pitts Theology Library of the Candler School of Theology at Emory University houses its own dissertations. A keyword search for “Theses & Dissertations, Candler School of Theology” will uncover post-1960 theses and dissertations in DiscoverE.
  • The Health Sciences Library has a collection of theses from the Rollins School of Public Health.  For more information see the Health Sciences Library's webpage about finding Rollins School of Public Health theses.

Master's Theses

  • An incomplete collection of College Master's Theses is at Woodruff Library. If you do not find a particular Master's Thesis in DiscoverE, you may want to check with the academic department in which the thesis was written.
  • The Health Sciences Library has a collection of theses from the Rollins School of Public Health.  For more information see the Health Sciences Library's webpage about finding Rollins School of Public Health theses.

 

Honors Papers

Honors Papers written by senior undergraduates are kept in the Woodruff Library. (They can be searched in the catalog by author, title or by using the phrase "honors papers" combined with a keyword, e.g. honors papers and egypt.)

 

Where are the dissertations at Woodruff Library?

 

Most Emory University dissertations are available in two formats, paper (up until 2008 when paper copies were no longer submitted) and electronic full-text. There is a full-text copy of each dissertation available in PDF format via DiscoverE or Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database.

Beginning in Fall 2008, all Emory University graduate students have submitted their dissertations and masters theses in electronic form to the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) database.  Undergraduates completing honors theses have contributed to the online depository since 2009.  ETD is an open, online, searchable repository for Emory University student research.

For theses written until Fall 2008, there are typically two bound paper copies: a circulating copy found in the Stacks (or Storage), and a non-circulating archival copy in the Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Library (MARBL). Archival copies are in Storage, with the exception of the latest year's dissertations. Please contact the Rose Library (MARBL) at (404) 727-6887 to request earlier archival copies.

Locating Emory Dissertations by Author or Title in DiscoverE:

  Search for your dissertation by author or title using either keyword or browse mode.
 

 

 

Locating Emory Dissertations by Department in DiscoverE:

 

There are several ways to find dissertations by department. You can browse by author, using the department as an "author":

Example Author: Emory University Dept. of Psychology

NOTE: in DiscoverE many of the electronic versions of Emory dissertations do not include dept. information. So, to find the electronic versions, follow the directions above and when you find the dissertation you would like, click on the author's personal name.  This will take you to all versions of the dissertation by this author.

Or you can search for the online copies by keyword. This method will also find dissertations from various departments which include your keyword(s).

Example: emory thesis ph.d. and English

Lastly, you can find a listing of History Department dissertations here:

History Dissertations at Emory University


 

Locating Emory Dissertations by Subject in DiscoverE:

 

Search by keyword using topics combined with "emory thesis ph.d." or "dissertat$". The DiscoverE "truncation" symbol is (*), which searches for variations on a keyword such as "dissertation."

Example: emory thesis ph.d. and family and african americans


 

Locating Emory Dissertations in the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Database:

 

Dissertations & Theses covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers master's theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for master's theses beginning spring 1988. Full-text of all titles after 1997 and selected earlier titles are available. 

 

Once in the Dissertations and Theses database, you can locate Emory dissertations a number of ways, including searching under author, title, or school.

 

 

 

Locating Emory Dissertations in the Emory Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Database:

 

Go to the Emory Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) website and use the search, advanced search or browse function to locate the theses or dissertation you need. 

The Emory ETD database includes:

all Emory theses and dissertations produced as of 2008 by Emory College, Candler School of Theology, and the Laney Graduate School.

Overview & Resources

Overview

 

Along with using the online Dissertation & Theses database for finding dissertations and dissertation abstracts, the Woodruff Library owns or has access to many resources to aid in your search for dissertations. The following list of sources are available to Woodruff Library patrons. Call numbers are for the Woodruff Library Stacks:

:

 

Resources

 

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers master's theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for master's theses beginning spring 1988. Full-text of all titles after 1997 and selected earlier titles are available.

 

Dissertation Abstracts International. A: The humanities and social sciences.
Z5055 .U6 A1 SEC. A

Dissertation abstracts from the humanities and social sciences. Lists dissertations published since 1969.

Dissertation Abstracts International. B: The sciences and engineering.
Z5055 .U6 A1 SEC. B

Dissertation abstracts from the sciences and engineering. Lists dissertations published since 1978.

Dissertation Abstracts International C: European Abstracts.
Z5055 .U6 A1 SEC. C v. 37 - 49

Dissertation abstracts from Europe. Lists dissertations published from 1976-1988. Dissertations after 1988 are listed in Dissertation Abstracts International C: Worldwide.

Dissertation Abstracts International. C: Worldwide.
Z5055 .U6 A1 SEC. C

Dissertation abstracts published worldwide since 1989. Continues the listings found in Dissertation Abstracts International C: European Abstracts.
Comprehensive Dissertation Index. Supplement.
Z5055 .U6 A21

Supplements the Dissertation Abstracts International publications. Library owns supplements for published dissertations since 1978.

American Doctoral Dissertations.
Z5055 .U6 A12

Resource listing dissertation abstracts from the United States since 1963.

Overview/Resources

Overview

  Many online databases and reference books offer listings of dissertations and theses from around the world. These have been organized by specific country or area. Call numbers are for the Woodruff Library Stacks:
 

World

 

Foreign Doctoral Dissertations via CRL

Coverage of non-U.S. dissertations in Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) is sketchy, and it can be difficult to identify and obtain copies of foreign dissertations. However, the Center for Research Libraries actively collects foreign dissertations and provides them to member institutions through interlibrary loan. Unfortunately, their collection is not completely indexed in the Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database, so if you need a foreign dissertation that isn't listed there, it's well worth making an interlibrary loan request for it anyway. Please allow extra time -- if the dissertation you need is already at CRL, it will come quickly, but if they need to purchase it, it may take six months to a year.


 

Europe

 

Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog

Online catalog that provides the capability to search a number of catalogs in German speaking countries as well as national libraries and union catalogs in Europe, North America and Australia.

 

DART-Europe

Electronic theses portal.


 

Latin America

 

University of Texas Latin America Network Information Center (LANIC)

Online database that provides links to a wide range of consortial, regional, and national library catalogs.


 

Australia

 

TROVE:  National Library of Australia - Theses

Trove contains almost a million theses. Some of these are in print format only, others are available online in digital format.

 

Austria

 

Gesamtverzeichnis österreichischer Dissertationen.
Z5055 .A89 G42

Collection of volumes containing the dissertation information for those published in Austria from 1966 to 1984.


 

Belgium

 

Répertoire des thèses de doctorat.
Z5055 .B4 A53

Dissertations from Belgium in Flemish and French from 1971 to 1984.


 

Canada

 

Theses Canada Portal

Access to Canadian theses.

 

China

National Library of China - Dissertations

China Doctoral/Master Dissertation Database (CNKI)

Denmark

 

Danks bogfortegnelse.
Z2561 .D19

Compiled from weekly listings in Det Danske bogmarked. Emory library holds volumes from 1841-1929, 1940-1964, and 1970-1990.


 

France

 

BNF: thèses et écrits académiques.

Online catalog for French theses.

Système universitaire de documentation [SUDOC]

Recent French dissertations are listed in Système universitaire de documentation [SUDOC], which is provided by L'Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur. A project to provide digital theses is underway. To find theses only, use the "Recherche avancée" form and limit to "theses." Older French dissertations are listed in: *Catalogue des thèses et écrits académiques*.

ABES Theses

Accès à près de 6000 thèses de doctorat soutenues depuis 2006, de surcroît en texte intégral pour 4000 d’entre elles.

Annuaire des Docteurs (Lettres) de I'Université de Paris et des autres universités françaises; bibliographic analytique des théses, 1899-1965.
Z5055 .F79 P3

Bibliographic analytique des thèses de doctorat des universités de France (1966-1974).
Z5055 .F79 B522

Catalogue des thèses de doctorat.
Z5055 .F78 1959

Catalog of dissertations published in France and organized by topic. Focuses on scientific dissertations and those from the medical fields

.

Catalogue des thèses de sciences soutenues en France de 1810 à 1890 inclusivement.
MICFICHE 1462

Bibliographic catalog of dissertations published in France. Catalog on microfiche.

Catalogue des thèses et écrits académiques.
Z5055 .F78

Emory holds volumes from 1884 to 1958.

Inventaire des thèses de doctorat soutenues devant les universités françaises. Droit, sciences économiques, sciences de gestion, lettres, sciences humaines, théologies.

Covers dissertations from 1981-1992.

Répertoire alphabétique des thèses de doctorat ès lettres des universités françaises 1810 - 1900, avec table chronologique par université[s] et table détaillée des matières.
Z5055 .F79 M2


 

Germany

.

Dissonline

A source for digital dissertations in German.

Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten erschienenen Schriften.
Z5055 .G39 v.1-28

Annual catalog listing dissertations from Germany from 1885 to 1912. Is continuted by Jaresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und technischen Hochschulen erschienenen Schriften.

Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und technischen Hochschulen erschienenen Schriften.
Z5055 .G39 v. 29-39

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten erschienenen Schriften and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und Hochschulen erscienenen Schriften. Covers german dissertations published between 1913 and 1923.

Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und Hochschulen erschienenen Schriften.
Z5055 .G39 v. 40-51

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und technischen Hochschulen erschienenen Schriften and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften. Covers the years between 1924 and 1935.

Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften.
Z5055 .G39 v.52-85

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der an den deutschen Universitäten und Hochschulen erschienenen Schriften and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der Hocschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins. Covers the years between 1936 and 1969.

Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulshriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins.
Z5055 .G39 v. 86-87

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der deutschen Hochschulschriften and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften. Covers the years 1970 and 1971.

Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften.
Z5055 .G39 V.88

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins. Covers the year 1972.

Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins.
Z5055 .G39 v.89

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der Hocschulschriften and is continued by Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften. Covers the year 1973.

Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften.
Z5055 .G39 v. 90-103

Continues Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins. Covers the years 1974 to 1985 and 1987.


 

Great Britain and Ireland

 

EThOS E-Theses Online Service

The British Library database contains records for doctoral theses from UK Higher Education Institutions and allows immediate download of many electronic and digitized theses.


 

India

 

Vidyanidhi: Digital Library & E-Scholarship Portal @ University of Mysore

Vidyanidhi is a national repository that archives and makes available doctoral theses from India.


 

Italy

 

Tesionline

For Italian dissertations.


 

Norway

 

Norsk bokfortegnelse.
Z2591 .N87

Compiled from weekly entries in Norsk bokhandlertidende. Covers the years 1954-1993 and 1995-2002.


 

Spain

 

Bases de Datos de Tesis Doctorales (TESEO)

Indexes dissertations completed since 1976.

Tesis doctorales.
Z5055 .S5 U73

Covers the years between 1976 and 1979.


 

Sweden

 

DISSERTATIONS.SE :  Swedish University Dissertations

Search and download more than 10.000 Swedish university dissertations. Full text. 

 

Swedish Dissertations:  The European Library

The National Library of Sweden's collection of doctoral dissertations

 

Svensk bok-katalog.
Z2621 .S95

Covers the years between 1911 and 1955.

Svensk bokförteckning. The Swedish national bibliography.
Z2625 .S952

Compiled from weekly entried in Svensk bokhandel. Covers the years between 1962 and 2000.

 

 

Switzerland

 

 

Helveticat

The Swiss National Library has a copy of all dissertations written in the country. Add the keyword “diss” to your search terms to retrieve dissertations.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322