Skip to main content

DANC 190/THEA 190 - The Art of Eating: Scholarly Articles

Scholarly Journals at Woodruff Library

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.

What is a scholarly journal? One in which the articles:

  • are written by experts/scholars in the field
  • include notes and/or a bibliography
  • are reviewed by an editorial board of outside scholars before publication
  • are geared to scholars/researchers in the field

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles

Please note that the contents of articles are not searchable in EUCLID. Read Finding Articles at Woodruff Library.

The Databases @ Emory page lists literally hundreds of databases that the library subscribes to. The left navigation bar includes the capability of browsing by subject. The databases below may be particularly useful for food-related research. Some are general-purpose databases that you will want to use throghout your undergraduate career at Emory, regardless of your field of study.

 

GENERAL DATBASES

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990. It is not really "complete" and should not be the only place where you look for articles, but it is often a good starting point.

Google Scholar. This database of scholarly articles maintained by Google is a good starting point like Academic Search Complete, though it doesn't index everything. Its Google-style search interface is easy to use, but you may need to winnow through a large number of results to find articles that are relevent, depending on what search terms you use.

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary). Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals various fields. Coverage usually does not include the current year of a journal, so if you want very recent articles you should look in other databases.

Project Muse.(ca. 1990 to present). Full text of many humanities journals.

SUBJECT DATABASES

Communication and Mass Media Complete (coverage varies - to present). Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

MLA International Bibliography (1963 to present). Sponsored by the Modern Language Association, this is a truly interdiciplinary database for the arts and humanities.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS). Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences (primarily economics, anthropology, sociology, public health, and political science), going back to 1915.

SocINDEX with Full Text. Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

Women's Studies International. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322