Skip to main content

French and Francophone Culture: Finding books and articles

French 313

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Databases

General Databases

JSTOR

 JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project Muse

Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Social Sciences Abstracts

A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

 

Entertainment

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Publisher description: "[I]ndexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections." Includes full text access to selected journals.

Film Literature Index Online

The Film Literature Index (FLI) Online indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. Coverage after 2001 is available in the print version of the Film Literature Index.

Ciné-ressources

Le 22 août 2007, la Cinémathèque met en ligne le premier catalogue collectif des bibliothèques et archives de cinéma, Ciné-Ressources, concrétisant ainsi un effort de près de dix ans des institutions patrimoniales françaises en matière de cinéma.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive contains full runs of key trade and consumer magazines in film, broadcasting, popular music and theater, including Variety and Billboard. It contains full color page reproductions and full-text search capability, including within ads.

 

Literature

MLA International Bibliography

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

Literature Online

 A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.

History

Historical Abstracts

Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

 

 

Note: This is a very small sampling for the more than 400 databases available to Emory students, if you need to explore other database options, please visit our Databases@Emory page here.

Sample subect searches in discoverE

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322