Skip to main content

FILM 403 - The Biz: Scholarly Articles

Articles in discoverE

The Articles tab in discoverE allow you to search for articles in multiple databases at once. Under "Look for my Query," try selecting Performing Arts or Academic Search Complete. For more control over the search process and the results you retrieve, try searching in one of the online databases listed on this page. 

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Check these databases first:

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals in many disciplines. Includes selected full text from 1990.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present). Major index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.

MLA International Bibliography  (1963 to present). Film coverage begins in 1974. After that it is listed under "Cinema." This online version, with its keyword searching capability, may identify articles on film not specifically indexed as such.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

Also check:

Film Literature Index Online Major film studies index, covers articles published 1976-2001. 

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary). Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in Film Studies, history, economics, and other fields. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year.

Project Muse (ca. 1990 to present). Many humanities journals, among them Wide Angle and Cinema Journal.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present)
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322