Skip to main content

African American Newspaper Guide: Recent (1980s forward)

About This Page

The sources on this page provide access to newspaper content from the relatively recent past (approximately 1980 and later.)

There is some overlap with the sources in both Current Newspapers and Historical Newspapers. Coverage within these sources varies from one or two years to 20 or 30 years.

For availability of a particular title:

Search Catalog for Newspaper Titles

To idenfity whether we have a specific newspaper title in print, microfilm or digital form use the following library tools.

1. Search discoverE or EUCLID. ex. Chicago Defender, Black Coalition Weekly, North Star

         2. Try searching in ejournals

Search Databases for Articles

 
Access World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record.
 
Included are the Atlanta Daily World (2000+), Chicago Defender (2008+), Los Angeles Sentinel (2007+), Michigan Chronicle (2006+), New Pittsburgh Courier (2009+), Pittsburgh Courier (2009+)
 
 

Ethnic NewsWatch 

Full text U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. Search tip: Hit the "Select Multiple Databases" link to select both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) versions of this database.

Includes: Afro - American Red Star (1989+), Afro-American (Baltimore) (2003+), Call & Post  (all Ohio edition) (2009+), The Charlotte Post  (2008+), Chicago Defender     (1989+), Los Angeles Sentinel   (1989+), New Pittsburgh Courier   (1991+), New York Amsterdam News (1989+), Oakland Post  (1991+), Philadelphia Tribune  (1991+)
 
 
The country’s first and largest national collaboration of ethnic news organizations

Web Archives

Many Woodruff Library researchers are often interested in getting newspaper articles via the Internet. The library subscribes to a large number of these newspapers, which you may access by clicking on the links above.

Some papers also offer access to online archives of their articles via their websites, but they often charge a fee and rarely have articles older than the late 1980s or early 1990s. A quick way to find out if a newspaper has an archive, how far back it goes, and whether they charge for using it is to check the US News Archives on the Web site.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322