Skip to main content

African American Newspaper Guide: Historical

About This Page

The sources on this page provide access to historical (primarily before 1980) U.S. and international newspapers available at Woodruff Library or online.  

Available papers range from the 17th to the 20th century. There is some overlap with sources listed under Recent Newspapers.

For availability of a particular title:

Search Catalogs for Newspaper Titles

To idenfity whether we have a specific newspaper title in print, microfilm or digital form use the following library tools.

1. Search discoverE or EUCLID. ex. Chicago Defender, Black Coalition Weekly, North Star

2. Try searching in ejournals

3. Consult the print and microform directory

Search Databases for Articles

Proquest HIstorical Newspapers

Contains backfiles of major 20th century African American newspapers including:

Atlanta Daily World
Baltimore Afro-American
Chicago Defender
Cleveland Call and Post
Daily Defender
Los Angeles Sentinal
New York Amsterdam News
Norfolk New Journal and Guide
Philadelphia Tribune
Pittsburgh Courier

For the same newspapers in a different form see: The Black Studies Center

African-American newspapers, 1827-1998

This database contains about 270 U.S newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

African-American Newspapers: 19th Century

This database includes several important newspapers including the Freedom's Journal (1827-1829); The Colored American (1837-1841); The North Star (1847-1851); The National Era (1847-1853); Provincial Freeman (1854-1857); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-1852); and The Christian Recorder (1861-Apr. 1862).

Library of Congress, Digitized Black Newspaper Collection

42 digitized African American Newspapers from Washington D.C., Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina and elsewhere.

Consult other online guides to freely available, digitized African American newspapers

Search Tips

Will you be searching within historic newspaper databases? If yes, try these search tips:

Limit by date range

Try combinations of search terms.

Do multiple searches in order to get the results you are looking for.

Use specific search terms.

Remember to match your search terms to time period or issue being discussed (i.e. searching  the term "African-American" in 1920s newspaper  will get you nowhere)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322