Skip to main content

African American Newspaper Guide: About Newspapers

Researching African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers in Recent Scholarship

Try searching for your newspaper title or editor in these full-text databases and indexes

*Articles that you find in GoogleScholar might not be availale on the spot in full text. If you find something that you can't access, search for the title of the journal in discoverE to see if the library subscribes to it in print or electronic form.

Biographical Databases

Many journalists, editors, and newspaper titles are described in our biographical and reference databases. See especially:

Oxford African American Studies Center

Core texts includes: Africana, The Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America, and The African American National Biography. In addition, the site includes over 300 carefully edited primary source documents with commentaries, approximately 2,300 images and over 300 charts, tables, graphs, maps, and timelines. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief. **If you have problems logging into OAASC, try using Oxford Reference Online. It contains many of the same core encyclopedias on African American History.

Recommended Searches:

  • Title (Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, other major African American Newspaper)
  • Editor or Publisher

African American Biographical Database

AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans. The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Recommended Searches:

  • Editor or Publisher
  • Journalist

American National Biography

Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography, the ANB is a premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Credo Reference Unlimited

Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.

Reference Universe

Another useful reference database.

Bibliographies and Indexes

Barbara K Henritze. Bibliographic Checklist of African American Newspapers / Barbara K. Henritze. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical PubCo, 1995.

Bell & Howell Co. Newspaper Indexing Center, and Black Newspaper Indexing Project. “Index to Black Newspapers.” Indexing Center, UMI, 1977.

Charles A. Simmons. The African American Press: a History of News Coverage During National Crises, with Special Reference to Four Black Newspapers, 1827-1965 / Charles A. Simmons. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co, 1998.

Henry G La Brie. The Black Newspaper in America; a Guide / by Henry G. La Brie III. Iowa City: Institute for Communication Studies, University of Iowa, 1970.

———. The Black Press in America; a Guide / by Henry G. La Brie III. 2d ed. Coralville, Iowa: Mercer House Press, 1972.

Lincoln University (Jefferson City, Mo ) School of Journalism. Negro Newspapers in the United States, 1966. Jefferson City, Mo, 1966.

Steven C Newsome. The Afro-American Newspaper: an Inventory / Steven C. Newsome. Evanston, Ill: Northwestern University Library, 1976.

Timothy N Pinnick. Finding and Using African American Newspapers / Timothy N. Pinnick. Wyandotte, OK: printed from author-submitted camera-ready copy by The Gregarth Publishing Co, 2008.

Vishnu Vitthal Oak. The Negro Newspaper / by Vishnu V. Oak. Westport, Conn: Negro Universities Press, 1970.

Warren Henry Brown. Check List of Negro Newspapers in the United States (1827-1946) / by Warren Brown. Jefferson City, Mo: School of Journalism, Lincoln Univ, 1946.

 

Scholarly Monographs

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322