Skip to main content

Postwar Soviet Cinema: Scholarly Articles

Core Journals

Recommended Databases

Suggested databases; for a more complete listing, visit the Databases @ Emory page.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with other journals.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Publisher description: [I]ndexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Film Literature Index Online The Film Literature Index (FLI) Online indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

Historical Abstracts [EBSCOhost] Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

JSTOR JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Includes many articles on film-related topics.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322