Skip to main content

AFS389/ANT 385/ENVS 385 The Politics of Natural Resources : Anthropological Perspectives: Articles/News

News Sources From & About Africa

All AllAfrica Global Media is a multi-media news content service provider and the largest electronic distributor of African news with content back to 1997.

Access World News includes international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts from Africa and elsewhere Dates vary.

BBC World connects to the British Broadcasting's overseas news coverage which also has tabs for TV and radio. A separate Africa news page is available.

Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications from around the world (including Africa) in 22 languages. It includes the world's most prestigious publications and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. You can select "Source Category" and 'Publication by Region."

New York Times, Africa, International News contains breaking news and opinion. Note "Times Topics: Find News by County" search box in upper right of page.

New York Times (1851-2014); more recent coverage via Lexis/Nexis Academic above.

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)  digital archive of the Times (London), an important paper with significant coverage of African affairs.  More recent years of the Times (London) are searchable on Lexis-Nexis. which covers a wide variety of news sources.


SEE African Studies Research Guide: News for additional information.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL ( Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory resources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Check out a video on using Google Scholar.

Even more info: what's included, search tips, getting metrics, etc.

Finding Articles

This is a topic covered in a wide variety of general and specialized subject indexes. Information on Google/Google Scholar is found in a box to the left.



For Environmental Sciences use:

The following databases include the most varied selection of environmental scholarly journals and magazines.

For Business/Economics there are a number of databases including:



Africa Specific Articles Sources

Africa Bibliography.  Covering mainly the social sciences and humanities, this extensive annual listing of books, essays, and articles offers the latest publications in African studies (entire continent). Covers approximately 600 journals. Arrangement is geographical and by subject. Contains an author and subject index.

AfricaBib.Org (now maintained by Univ. of Leiden)
Africabib is a combination of databases providing access to periodical and other material on Africa.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD
Includes 17 databases from three continents resulting in a database of 3.2 million references (some with abstracts). Includes books, periodical articles, maps and musical recordings. Among the databases included are IBICUS (development information from Francophone Africa) African Studies Abstracts (and its earlier title) from 1988, and the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa from 1989. Updated quarterly

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322