Skip to main content

AFS389/ANT 385/ENVS 385 The Politics of Natural Resources : Anthropological Perspectives: Other Resources

U.S. Government Documents

Congress. The Congress is an important source for foreign policy information. Of particular interest are Congressional hearings which focus on on particular issues, e.g. blood diamonds, China and Africa.  Hearings contain testimony from government officials, outside experts and other interested parties. Often they include copies of relevant reports.

Most are also available digitally in Proquest Congressional .This database also indexes and provides full text of the Congressional Record which contains transcripts of debate on the floor of the House and Senate. Also contains the text of numerous reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) a group of scholars who provide background information for members of Congress.

U.S. State Department. The State Department website provides access to a wide variety of materials including daily press briefings, statements of the Secretary of State, and policy directives, e.g. Statement Concerning Continued Implementation of Conflict Minerals Due Diligence Pursuant to Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank Act.  It is searchable.

The Department's Office of Threat Finance Countermeasures advances policies that seek to minimize the funding available to a variety of groups that pose a threat to domestic, international and regional security. These groups include terrorists, the land-based criminal networks that organize piracy off the coast of Somalia, and regional insurgencies that exploit the illicit trade in conflict diamonds and conflict minerals to fund their operations against legitimate governments.

Conflicts over natural resources often impact human rights. The State Department issues an important annual report, Country Reports on Human Rights Practices,  which analyzes developments on a country by country basis and can be located through Proquest Congressional database; Recent years are also on the State Dept. website (Country Reports Human Rights). 

Other Resources

Africa Development Bank Group, founded in 1964 works to provide sustainable development in African countries. Includes African Development Bank and African Development Fund. Includes a Data Portal

Africa Progress Panel consists of ten distinguished individuals from the private and public sector who advocate for shared responsibility between African leaders and their international partners to promote equitable and sustainable development for Africa. Mr Kofi Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations and Nobel laureate, chairs the APP and is closely involved in its day-to-day work. The group has been very involved in analyzing African natural resources.

Extractive Industries Tranparency Iniative (EITI) is a global coation of companies and governments working together to make extractive industries more transparent and accountable, e.g. "Seeing Results from Natural Resources" --website

GOXI . In June 2009 the World Bank Institute and partners, including the African Development Bank, began a series of consultations with extractive industries practitioners from government, the private sector, civil society and think tanks to assess the current reality and capacity needs in terms of strengthening governance of the sector. In the process, practitioners pinpointed the need for a standing forum for innovation and collaboration across stakeholders groups, countries and initiatives.

Human Rights Watch is a major source of reports on the impact of extractive industries and related issues in Africa.

Revenue Watch Institue is a non-profit policy institute and grantmaking organization that promotes the effective, transparent and accountable management of oil, gas and mineral resources for the public good. Produces the Resource Governance Index for individual countries rating their governance of oil, gas and minerals and includes a review of each country's issues.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322