Skip to main content

PSYC 311: Adolescent Psychology - STROCK, Fall 2017

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO
Scholarly articles from peer-reviewed psychology journals.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Scholarly articles from psychology and other behavioral science journals.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals.

Annual Reviews
Published once a year and covers authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines with the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Has specific journal collections for Clinical Psychology and Psychology. 

PsycINFO Advanced Tutorial

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Sources

Know the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly articles.

Good guide provided by:
University of Arizona


"Scholarly" journal = "Peer-Reviewed" journal = "Refereed" journal

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322