Skip to main content

Women and Religion in the Atlantic World, c. 1600-1800: Getting Started

History 487RW-000

Topic Selection/Subject Encyclopedias

 

Before starting on your paper or project, you'll need to develop a research topic, collect background information, and then find books, articles, and other materials associated with the keywords you've identified that relate to your topic. In order to do comprehensive research, it is important to think about which other disciplines may touch on your topic. Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic.

Quick reference

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns. It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and LC call number.

American National Biography

The premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Biography in Context

A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Biography Reference Bank

A database similar to Biography in Context which provides access to biography, bibliography and other information. It overlaps significantly with Biography in Context, but not completely.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000. The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life.

Bibliographies, Companions and Handbooks

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Atlantic History

The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks Online provides access to electronic editions of Oxford Handbooks for various subjects.

Cambridge Collections Online

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America
Pitts Theology Library Reference     BL458 .E52 2006

A companion to early modern women's writing
Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks     PR113 .C66 2002    

The Cambridge companion to early modern women's writing.
Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks     PR113 .C36 2009    

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322