Skip to main content

CHN 373: Confucian Classics: Finding Materials from E-Journals & Online Databases

Course Guide to CHN 373W/EAS 374W/REL 374W by Dr. Maria Franca Sibau

Searching E-Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to some E-Journals.  You can read e-journals from E-Journal site at the Library's website.  Here are several E-journals that are related to your class:

 

1.  Dao: a Journal of Comparative Philosophy

 

2.  Journal of Chinese Philosophy

 

3.  Journal of Chinese Religion

 
4.  Journal of Asian Studies

 
5.  Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies

 

6.  Philosophy East & West

 

7.  Journal of Chinese Philosophy

 

8.  Journal of Chinese Religion

 

9.  Chinese Studies in History

 

10.  Confucius Studies = 孔子研究

Searching On-Line Databases

The Library subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the resources in the subject area of Confucian Classics as I listed below.   To search those databases effectively, it does not hurt to know some search methods, such as Basic vs. Advanced search, Boolean Operators, Field Searching, Truncation & Wildcards, and all the databases have Online Help.  To learn these techniques, please go to the site Searching Databases Effectively.

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Chinese Studies

Oxford Bibliographies online in Chinese Studies is a multi-and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines. It provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese, and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database covers bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Humanities International complete

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Religion and Philosophy collection

The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a database with more than 243 full-text journals. It covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.

ProQuest Databases

Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Chinese Studies librarian

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411

Online Databases in Chinese

 

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志库

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 academic journal titles, covering the period of time from 1994 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Core Newspaper Database 中国主要报纸数据库

CCND selects core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000, the sources are from 1,000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

Duxiu 读秀

Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322