Skip to main content
Banner Image

East Asian Studies Research Guide: East Asian Studies 东亚学

Provides information for the researches on East Asian Studies. The resources includes books, journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, local gazetteers, dissertations in the formats of print and online.

RESOURCES ON EAST ASIA

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

World News Connection

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

 

EAST ASIA & EAST ASIAN STUDIES

EAST ASIA

East Asia is the eastern subregion of the Asian continent.  The major countries that form the East Asia is China, Japan and Korea which is divided into South Korea and North Korea.  The region is one of the world's most populated places.  Historically, many countries in East Asia have been part of the Chinese cultural sphere, and East Asian vocabulary and scripts are often derived from classical Chinese and Chinese script.  The three major spoken and written languages are Chinese, Japanese and Korean.

EAST ASIAN STUDIES

According to Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia, East Asian Studies is a distinct multidisciplinary field of scholarly enquiry and education that promotes a broad humanistic understanding of East Asia past and present.  The field includes the study of the region's culture, written language, history, and political institutions.  East Asian Studies is located within the broader field of Area Studies and is also interdisciplinary in character, incorporating elements of the social sciences (anthropology, economics, sociology, politics etc.) and humanities (literature, history, art, film, music, etc.), among others.  The field encourages scholars from diverse disciplines to excanges ideas on scholarship as it relates to the East Asian experience and the experience of East Asia in the world.  In addition, the field encourages scholars to educate others to have a deeper understanding of, and appreciation and respect for, all that is East Asia and, therefore, to promote peaceful human integration worldwide.

East Asian Studies Program at Emory

East Asian Studies Program at Emory

East Asian Studies program at Emory is formed by the faculty from the departments of history, political sciences, religion, films, economics and East Asian languages and cultures.  It has both major and minor in East Asian Studies.  For details please check the Program's website.

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322