Skip to main content
Banner Image

American Literature Research Guide: Home

This guide supports researchers beginning studies in American literature.

Welcome to the American Literature Research Guide

Painting by Archibald Motley
Source: Wikimedia Commons

Related Research Guides

Researchers of American literature may find these other guides of interest:

About This Guide

American Literature
Research Guide

This guide was created to support Emory researchers beginning their studies in American literature. Because "American literature" designates an expansive field of literary study, this guide provides a brief overview, rather than an exhaustive list, of the many resources available.

The guide is divided into the following sections:

  • American Literature, Getting Started
    Provides links to full-text digital collections, encyclopedias, and bibliographies of American literature
  • Early American Literature
    Highlights a brief selection of literary works from 1607 to 1800 as well as a sample of critical works
  • Nineteenth-Century American Literature
    Highlights a brief selection of literary works from the nineteenth century as well as a sample of critical works

  • American Literature, Twentieth-Century and Beyond
    Highlights a brief selection of literary works from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries as well as a sample of critical works
  • External Resources
    A collection of links to major professional organizations, projects, and groups pertaining to American literature

Journal Spotlight: American Literature

Publisher description: American Literature has been regarded since its inception as the preeminent periodical in its field. Each issue contains articles covering the works of several American authors—from colonial to contemporary—as well as an extensive book review section; a “Brief Mention” section offering citations of new editions and reprints, collections, anthologies, and other professional books; and an “Announcements” section that keeps readers up-to-date on prizes, competitions, conferences, grants, and publishing opportunities.

Subject Guide

Katie Rawson
Contact:
404.727.1061

New York Times Book Section, Latest Articles

Loading
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322