Skip to main content

ARTHIST 329 :Ancient Greek Sanctuaries: Home

Much of ancient Greek life was framed within a sacred context, but the gods were most emphatically honored and worshiped within sanctuaries, specially designated spaces dedicated to a particular god or gods. In this course we will examine the sacred space

Overview

Great Panhellenic sanctuaries at Olympia and Delphi

Civic sanctuaries such as the sanctuary of Athena on the Akropolis in Athens, the Asiatic sanctuaries at Ephesos, Samos, and Didyma,

Mystery cults of Demeter at Eleusis and the Great Gods on Samothrace.

Reference (Finding Background Information)

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art, Benezit's, etc.)
 Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art).

REF DE5 .B7 2002 (4 vols.) Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world
English translation of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, an update of the academic standard Paulys Real-encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. This interdisciplinary work provides easy, direct access to names, places, dates, and objects from all areas of Greek and Roman culture.

The Oxford classical dictionary
REF-DESK DE5 .O9 1996
Covers interdisciplinary concepts in the classical world such as law, history, art and literature, put together by an international team of contributors.

The Oxford Companion to Archaeology. Brian M. Fagan, ed., Oxford University Press 1996. REFERENCE CC70 .O96 1996 or Oxford Reference Online Oxford University Press.

  • Atlas of classical archaeology
    REF-ATLAS G1046 .E15 A8 1977
    Arranged by region, then broken down by city. Contains black & white photos, maps and diagrams, in addition to a chronology of events, a glossary, and an index.
  • Atlas of classical history
    REF-ATLAS G1033 .G65 1994
    Covers the period from 1700 BCE (the Near East) - CE 565 (the Byzantine Empire). Contains black & white maps based on political, economic, cultural, and religious trends.
  • Muir's historical atlas
    REF-ATLAS D12 .M86
    Contains color maps of military and political activities of the classical world, including town plans.

REF DF16 .B45 1989, Place-names in classical mythology : Greece
Deals with only mythological places, unless the real historical place had mythological associations. Also contains a chart associating modern place-names with their ancient locations.

REF DE7 .H39 2000 Who's who in the Greek world
This biographical dictionary features entries only on real people (no mythological figures), and includes a glossary, chronology, list of rulers, and black and white maps.

Finding Books at Emory

From the Books, Movies, Music tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine My Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more

WorldCat

Search libraries worldwide. WorldCat Galileo database contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

Materials from WorldCat may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Guide

Kim Collins
Contact:
404-727-2997
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322