Skip to main content

Sustainable Consumption: Current News on Sustainability

A guide for researching sustainable products, as well as interventions, news, and other literature on sustainability.

Climate Desk

Climate Desk is dedicated to exploring the human, environmental, economic, and political impact of a changing climate. The site is the result of a collaboration between The Atlantic, CityLab, Fusion, GristThe GuardianThe Huffington Post, Medium, Mother JonesThe New Republic, Newsweek, Reveal, Slate, and Wired.

Loading

Environmental News Bits

Environmental News Bits is written and maintained by Laura L. Barnes, the Sustainability Information Curator at the Illinois Sustainability Technology Center.  She provides links to sustainability news articles from a variety of sources, including NPR, the New York Times, and various blogs.  

Loading

Finding Current News at the Library

The library subscribes to a variety of news sources.  You can find a list of our news databases by going to: 

Databases @ Emory --> Browse Databases by Subject --> News Sources

Check out the LibGuide "How Do I Find Newspapers?" for more detailed information on both historical and recent news sources.     

Current News Databases

Factiva provides online access to over 8,000 news sources in 22 different languages--including local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.  

LexisNexis Academic Universe offers full-text access to international, national, and regional newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and wire service reports, as well as transcripts of television and radio programs. 

Newsbank Access World News includes domestic and international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts.  It also provides access to 16 local Georgia newspapers.  

Press Display provides access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.  The collection currently includes more than 1,200 titles from 94 different countries, including the U.S.  The database also maintains a 60-day backfile of papers, which are searchable by keyword.  

Sustainability Blogs

Grist

"Grist is a source of intelligent, irreverent environmental news and commentary that's been around since 1999, when the internet was made of rubber bands.  We cover climate, energy, food, cities, justice, politics, tech, and green living, and the innovative solutions bubbling up in each of those areas.  Each day, we use our Clarity-o-Meter to point our readers to the news that matters most, and to translate wonky issues into stories that make sense."

TreeHugger

"TreeHugger is the leading media outlet dedicated to driving sustainability mainstream. Partial to a modern esthetic, we strive to be a one-stop shop for green news, solutions, and product information.  We publish an up-to-the-minute blog, weekly and daily newsletters, and regularly updated Twitter and Facebook pages." 

Eco News Network

"Eco News Network provides news, trends, and commentary on ecological issues, challenges, products, processes, science and leisure.  Business news as well as eco-leisure news is featured.  Staff writers, guest authors and contributors offer the latest developments and present the challenges facing all of us as we embark on sustaining the planet."

Mother Nature Network 

"Mother Nature Network is the world's most visited online network for news and information related to the environment and responsible living.  MNN is designed for people who want to make the world a better place. Its content is engaging, non-political and easy-to-understand and goes well beyond traditional 'green' issues--encompassing topics that include family, health, home, travel, food, and community involvement." 

Circle of Blue

"To document emerging and recognized crises, Circle of Blue collaborates with leading scientists and data experts.  Through its partnerships, Circle of Blue then dispatches top journalists to map and define the region where the change is occurring.  Making connections from localized occurrences to global trends, Circle of Blue publishes these reports online--free of charge--to inform academics, governments, and the general public, catalyzing participation across disciplines, regions, and cultures."

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322