An ethnography is:
An ethnography is NOT:
Where are ethnographic monographs? Are they shelved in a specific place in the library?
As mentioned in the "Books" tab of this guide, anthropology books about a certain region of the world are often classified with books on that region and NOT in the general anthropology call number. Similarly, ethnographic monographs written about cultures/groups are classified with the books on that country (eg. Africa, DT; Asia, DS; Latin America, F) or subject (e.g. ethnographies about education will be in the education section).
If they aren't all together in the library, how can I find them?
1) Finding ethnographies in the library catalog:
Ethnographies can be difficult to identify in the catalog because there is no specific subject heading for "ethnography". So, here are some tips for searching for them in discoverE:
2) Search the Anthropology Online database. This is a full-text database of published ethnographies from around the world.
3) Finding ethnographies using the Anthropology Plus database:
Ethnogaphy IS a subject heading in the Anthropology Plus database (which searches for journal articles, book chapters, etc...), so enter your subject terms and the word "ethnography" when you do your search.
Try searching the eHRAF World Cultures database. It includes over 100 full text ethnographies. To find ethnographies in eHRAF, from the home page, click on the BROWSE tab. On the page that displays click on the link to CULTURES and then use either the A-Z INDEX, REGIONS or COUNTRIES tabs to choose a culture group. Click on the culture group in which you are interested, then click on the tab that displays labeled COLLECTION DOCUMENTS. This is a list of ethnographies related to your culture group. Click on a title and a page will display with information about that ethnography and book navigation links on the left hand side of the page. Note that it can be bit clunky to read an ethnography using the eHRAF interface. You may want to search the Emory Library catalog for a print version of the same title -- in this sense, you would be using eHRAF as a means to identify ethnographies that you could then check out from the Library.