Scholarly journals contain articles written by experts for experts. Articles are reviewed by other experts before they are published.This is called peer review. A scholarly article typically has information about authors (such as credentials and affiliations), an abstract, footnotes/bibliography, and perhaps extensive statistics or charts. Authors often provide at least a brief review of the literature on the subject. Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" journals.
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Advanced Scholar Options to refine your search!
Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
It indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, geography, geology, genetics, psychology, religion and sociology.
Full-text database of published ethnographies, memoirs, archival material, and selected images. Geographic coverage is global and all aspects of human behavior are covered including kinship, family, race, marriage, gender, material culture, religion, conflict resolution, economic systems, and more.
Collection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of ethnographic and other documents (including books, journal articles, and dissertations) on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Published online by the University of Buffalo, ARD is a database of signed, refereed reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources.
The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Provides searchable full-text access to backfiles (usually does not include issues of journals published within the last 5 years) of key scholarly journals in many fields including African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, geography, history, history of science, language and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Searches for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all areas of research. Use Advanced Scholar Options to refine your search.