Skip to main content

Course Guide to SOC 389: Contemporary Chinese Society and Culture: Citing Your Sources

This Course Guide is created to provide library resources for the students who take the class of Contemporary Chinese Society and Culture. Students can visit this Guide to get library books, journal articles, database materials and writing tools for the

Citing Your Sources

.

Our Libraries Citing Your Sources Research Guide provides information on why to cite sources, how to avoid plagiarism and how to avoid common mistakes.

Prof. Xu requires this class to use The Chicago Manual of Style.  There are two types of Chicago format:

  • The author-date style uses parenthetical citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information.
  • The note-bibliography (NB) style requires the use of footnotes or endnotes, which means that the citation information is either at the foot of the page or at the end of the article and is noted at the end of the quoted or paraphrased text with a number in superscript. 

For help with Chicago style, see the following:

  1. The Chicago Manual of Style Online
  2. The Chicago Manual of Style, Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference Z253 .U69 2010
  3. Purdue's Online Writing Lab Chicago style page.
  4. You can copy and paste a reference cited in Chicago style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
  5. You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

 

EndNote

EndNote is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.

Zotero

Zotero, a Firefox add-on, collects, manages, and cites research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.

Emory Writing Center

The Emory Writing Center is open for Fall 2016 in the regular location, Callaway N 212. To make an appointment, please visit the website:

Emory Writing Center

Plagiarism

Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is availab in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code, here are some information for you to avoid plagiarism.

How can you avoid plagiarism?

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322