Skip to main content

MUS 190: What's So Great About Bach?

Databases for Finding Articles and More

Music Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967- , with conference proceedings covered from 1835.)
A comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes, RILM covers all types of literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English.  More information about RILM's scope and contents is available here.
Truncation symbol: *. Wildcard: ? for one character, * for multiple characters within a word.

Music Index Online (Most content dates from 1975 or later. )
Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Use the "Choose Databases" option to search this along with Academic Search Complete.
Truncation symbol: *.  Wildcard:  ? replaces 1 character, may be repeated.  # allows for an extra character in the word:  colo#r finds both color and colour.

Music Periodicals Database  (1996-  .  Selected journals are indexed in their entirety.)
Try this for popular music.  Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. To limit results to articles in English and/or exclude reviews, use the Advanced Search.  Truncation symbol: *.  Wildcard: ? (Use to replace any single character.  May be repeated.)

Bach Bibliography
This citation database of publications on Bach was originated by Dr. Yo Tomita of Queen's University, Belfast and is currently maintained by the Bach-Archiv Leipzig.

Bach Digital
A virtual library of resources by and about Bach and extended Bach family, collected from the holdings of many separate libraries, especially those in Germany with prominent Bach collections. Includes high-resolution scans of 90% of J.S. Bach's works.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete
A large multidisciplinary database offering full text of over 5000 periodicals.  Also indexes and abstracts other types of publications.  Coverage dates vary, with some content going as far back as 1865.
Truncation symbol: *.  Wildcard:  ? replaces 1 character, may be repeated.  # allows for an extra character in the word:  colo#r finds both color and colour.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Try the "Advanced Scholar Search" to focus your search.  Be aware that the links to Emory content sometimes yield false negatives.  Always search EUCLID or discoverE before you conclude that Emory doesn't own the cited source.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
A multidisciplinary collection of academic journals in digitized form.  Not current—for any journal, coverage begins with vol. 1 but lacks the most recent 2-5 years, but agreement with the publisher. Sometimes the more recent issues are found in Project Muse.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322