Harvard Dataverse Network (DVN)
Harvard's Dataverse Network is an eclectic collection of datasets and data collections, ranging from replication datasets from articles to institutional data collections. Many development NGO's and research organizations use Dataverse, including the Jameel Poverty Action Lab, Population Services International, the International Food Policy Research Institute, and the Center for Global Development. Dataverse also hosts more esoteric, specialized data collections, such as this collection of data on financial inclusion and access in Kenya.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The ICPSR is the largest collection of Social Science Data in the world. Topics included in the archive include topics such as economics, government, health care, crime, education, and demographics, with data on the likes of religion and governance, digital activism, fiscal policy, and women's involvement in leadership of political parties. Emory's local ICPSR representatives are Ms. Jennifer Doty and Dr. Robert O'Reilly. The ICPSR is also available via Databases at Emory. Please see this notice from the ICPSR on how to access the archive and its data when off-campus.
Open Data for Africa
Open Data for Africa is an interface for accessing and download data from the African Development Bank Group. The interface has a data catalog that will let you search/filter indicators by topics, sources, regions, or keyword searches. There are also various options for visualizing tables of data.
Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries (SESRIC)
SESRIC is a compilation of socio-economic statistics covering an extensive range of topics such as health, demographics, macroeconomics, public finances, and energy. The statistics are available via the Basic Social and Economic Indicators Database, and users also have the option of creating motion charts to visualize the relationship between pairs of indicators over time. For additional visualization of development-related indicators, see Gapminder.
World Bank Data Catalog
As part of its Open Data Initative, the World Bank has opened up access to dozens of its data collections and compiled into a single data catalog. The holdings here range from larger databases covering multiple topics to more narrowly-focused collections associated with particular research projects.
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
The World Development Indicators provide convenient access to hundreds indicators on over 200 countries and territories. Data are available annually from 1960 forward, with variation across countries and indicators. The database is part of the Bank's Data Catalog of statistical databases and other data collections. The WDI is also accessible via Databases at Emory and on CD-ROM in the Data Center.
Data Resources for International Development
A compilation of commonly-used data resources for both macro-level development indicators (e.g. health measures, education attainment, economic indicators) and micro-level data on individuals and households (e.g. health surveys, demographic surveys, population censuses and labor-force surveys).