REL 190 Buddhist Women through the Ages
Instructor: Ellen Ambrosone (Subject Librarian)
October 13, 2017
Stages in the research process: Find - Identify - Select - Obtain - Write
- Find materials that correspond to your search criteria, e.g., generate productive search results
- Identify the items in the search results that could be relevant, e.g., by scanning titles, authors, publishers, subject keywords.
- Select items that are appropriate to your needs, e.g., click a link to an online journal article or link to the library catalog to check availability of a book or video etc. Review again for relevance and scholarly value.
- Obtain items selected, e.g, acquire physically, access online, and/or capture a citation and/or content in software.
- Read, Think and Write: organize information, refine thesis and arguments, draft, review, submit.
Finding scholarly resources
LibX : a Firefox and Chrome extension that lets you select names, titles, or keywords in a web page and, by right-clicking, search those terms in DiscoverE, E-journals, Databases@Emory, WorldCat, Google and Google Scholar.
- Searching tips
- Known item searching, e.g., of a known title (Women and Monastic Buddhism in Early South Asia: Rediscovering the Invisible Believer) or author, is usually more reliable and efficient than using keywords. A recent study showed that grad students primarily search by "chaining" from one known item citation to another.
- But, if you don't have a title or author in mind, conduct a keyword search. Use Boolean operators like "AND", "OR," etc. (women OR nuns) and wildcard characters like * (buddh* wom*n).
- Once you have found a title that is helpful, select keywords from a controlled list or context, for example, a database's subject index or a catalog's Library of Congress subject headings like "Buddhist women" or "Women in Buddhism." Note that JSTOR is one of the few databases without subject headings.
- If you're struggling to find the right keywords, use keywords you find in a reference work article.
Capture citations and content using Bibliographic software
- What they do: grab content and/or citations from web, create bibliographies automatically
- Zotero: browser plug-in which lets you save online citations and/or full text then generate citations or bibliographies in standard formats.
- Endnote : web or desktop
- EasyBib: web only. In many cases, you can enter an article title or url into the interface and have the bibliographic information automatically extracted from one of EasyBib's databases and converted to a standard citation format. Alternatively, you can enter the bibliographic information manually and have it converted to a standard citation. Emory's institutional version has no ads and has links to Emory library resources. Register for an account from a campus-owned computer, and then you can log-in off-campus.
Other guides, personal and virtual