Skip to main content

REL 190: Managing Citations and Creating Bibliographies

Managing Citations and Creating Bibliographies

Popular choices for managing your citations and for creating bibliographies include Zotero and Endnote. For a comparison of Zotero and EndNote, consult the Citation Manager Comparison Libguide.

  • Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
    • For guidance on how to install and use Zotero, consult the Zotero Libguide.
  • EndNote moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish and share.
    • For guidance on how to install and use EndNote, consult the EndNote Libguide.

For a detailed guide to Citing Your Sources, please click here.

Also, check out Citation Builder from NC State University.

If Zotero or Endnote are new to you, attend one of the upcoming workshops to learn how to use them. EndNote Introduction is taking place on October 19th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm. Creating Bibliographies with Zotero is taking place on October 26th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm.

Zotero and Databases

Tips on importing citations from databases if the Zotero plugin extension fails to auto-detect the citation.

  • Restart or switch browsers: Sometimes the Zotero extension will conflict with other extensions in your browser and the auto-detection feature won't work.  If the Zotero icon in Firefox's "Add-on bar" has a warning icon overlaid, that's a clue that Zotero is unable to function.  You can try restarting Firefox or reinstalling the Zotero extension, or, if your copy of Chrome or Safari has the Zotero plug-in and has few or no other extensions, copy/paste the url of the resource page into one of those.  The latter is often the fastest option.
  • ATLA: If Zotero's auto-detection feature does not work on this database, here is a work-around.
    • Start from the page displaying the full text of an article you want to capture.
    • Make sure your copy of Zotero is open and, if you have a collection you want the citation dumped into, select it before the next steps.
    • Click "Export" from the menu panel.
    • Select "Direct Export in RIS Format."
    • Download and open using Zotero.
    • Note that the "permalink" may not be automatically added to the Zotero record.  In that case, you'll need to copy and paste that in manually.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS): If Zotero's auto-detection feature does not work on this database, here is a work-around.
    • Select an item or items in your search results by clicking the checkbox(es) in front of each result.
    • Click "Selected" in the menu bar at the top
    • The page will refresh showing only the selected records and new options on the left panel. 
    • Click "Export as RIS." 
    • Make sure your copy of Zotero is open and, if you have a collection you want the citation dumped into, select it before the next step.
    • Select "Open in Zotero"
    • Click OK
  • DiscoverE. If the auto-detection or download doesn't work, here is a work-around.
    • Click the Details tab
    • Click "This item in WorldCat"
    • You should be able to download the citation from the WorldCat record.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library.  If Zotero's auto-detection feature does not work on this database, here is a work-around.
    • Start from the page showing the full text of an article from a reference work.
    • Click "Citation Tools" from the menu at the top.
    • Under "Export to Third Party Software:" select Endnote and click Export.
    • An RIS file will be generated for you to download.
    • Make sure your copy of Zotero is open and, if you have a collection you want the citation dumped into, select it before the next step.
    • Click the RIS file to open it and Zotero should automatically import it.  If not, use your file manager's functionality to select Zotero from the list of applications on your desktop.
  • JSTOR. If Zotero's auto-detection feature does not work on this database, here is a workaround.
    • Start from the page displaying the full text of an article you want to capture.
    • Make sure your copy of Zotero is open and, if you have a collection you want the citation dumped into, select it before the next steps.
    • Click "Export citation."
    • Select "RIS file."
    • Download and open with Zotero.
    • Note that JSTOR's "permalink" is automatically added to the Zotero record.
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322