Skip to main content

EndNote

Import PDFs

Import a PDF and EndNote will create a reference for it, and attach the PDF to the reference:

 

 

 

PDF auto-import. Set up a folder on your desktop. Save PDFs into that folder and EndNote can import them automatically:

Importing Database Search Results

You can import search results from most databases into EndNote. This is made possible by import filters that come with the EndNote program.

  • Search the database via the web interface as you normally would.
  • Select the references you want, then save or export them.
  • Many databases now export directly to Endnote.
  • Some databases require that you save the results as a text file and then import them into your EndNote library.

Every database works a little differently, but the EndNote import filter for the particular database includes information on how to import the results. To see these filters, in EndNote select Edit/Import Filters/Open Filter Manager. Select the filter that matches the name of your database and you can see the download instructions within the filter information.

Download results from Pubmed

Importing text files from Pubmed involves a few steps.

Using Online Search in EndNote

On the EndNote menu, click Tools Online Search ...

  • The "Choose a connection" box will open.
  • Choose the resource to search. This will open a search box in your Endnote Library.
  • Enter your search terms. You will get a message back with the number of results found. You can choose whether to load all or some of the references.
  • When you retrieve references from an online database in Online Search Mode, the references are downloaded into a temporary library. If you want to save the references you have downloaded, you must copy them to an existing EndNote library.
  • When you retrieve references from an online database in Integrated Library & Online Search Mode, the found references are downloaded directly into the currently open library.

Enter a Reference Manually

The most basic way to enter a reference is by typing it in. 

  • Click References / New. Choose the reference type you want -- the default is Journal Article.
  • Enter all the information you have into the appropriate field.
  • If there are multiple author names, enter each one on a separate line.

Find the Full Text of References in your Library

EndNote X3 - X8 offer the option to find the full-text of the references downloaded to your EndNote library.

Before trying to find the full text it's best to set your preferences in EndNote.

  • Choose: Edit/Preferences/Find Full Text. (Mac choose: Endnote X#/Preferences/Find Full Text.)
  • Check all four of the boxes on the preferences box, if they are not already checked.
  • Two URLs need to be added to the preferences box.

The OPEN URL PATH (which allows EndNote to find the full text from the reference) should be:
http://emory-primoprod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01EMORY/01EMORY_services_page?

The AUTHENTICATE WITH URL (which allows you to authenticate as an Emory faculty/staff/student and thus get access to Emory-paid resources) should be:
http://proxy.library.emory.edu/login?url=

Here’s what it looks like:

 

After you’ve done a search and downloaded some references in EndNote:

  • Select the references you want to find full text for.
  • Right click and select: Find Full Text – Authenticate. You will be taken to a web page where you enter your Emory NetID and password, and click “login.” Then click “done” to close the window.
  • Back at your EndNote library, right click the selected references AGAIN, and choose “Find Full Text –Find Full Text”.
  • EndNote will begin searching through both freely available materials and Emory-licensed resources to find the full text. You can watch EndNote tally the progress on the bottom left side of your library.
  • When a pdf is found, a paperclip will display next to the author’s name in your library. Sometimes EndNote cannot download the pdf, but will provide a link to the resource. These will display as “found URL.”

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322