Skip to main content

ARTHIST 103 Understanding Architecture Guide (Fall 2017)

This class will study architecture as a process of design, negotiation, construction, and reception and explore critical and social issues of representation and meaning.An introduction to architecture that will include hands-on drawing and modeling projec

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.

Art Source (formerly Art Full Text) and Art Index Retrospective Art Source covers a broad range of Art subjects, including architecture

ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 to present Abstracts an international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on art.
ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text access to back files of key scholarly journals in many fields-
Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History. Art & Art History and Classical Studies

International Bibliography of Art  (2008-present) and  Bibliography of the History of Art  (1929-2007) Covering European art from post-classical times to the present and American art from post-Columbian times to the present
 

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

Vocabulary & Thesaurii


The Getty Institute's Getty Vocabulary Program has created databases and thesuari to help find information on artists, fine art terms, and geographic locations.

The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)

The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 120,000 records, including 293,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

The Getty Thesuarus of Geographic Names (TGN)
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322