Skip to main content

ARTHIST 103 Understanding Architecture Guide (Fall 2017)

This class will study architecture as a process of design, negotiation, construction, and reception and explore critical and social issues of representation and meaning.An introduction to architecture that will include hands-on drawing and modeling projec

Citing Your Work

Turabian and the Chicago Manual of Style are often used by art historians in preparing their footnotes and bibliographies, but students should check with your professor to see which style manual is required for papers in this course.

Chicago Manual of Style Online: Description: A style guide for American English published by the University of Chicago Press. It deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and usage to proper citation style, used in document preparation.

Print Edition: REFDESK Z253 .U69

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations [Turabian]
Reference Desk LB369 .T8 1996

For suggested ways to cite Internet sources consistent with Turabian's style, see A Brief Citation Guide for Internet Sources in History and the Humanities

 

Plagiarism

Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is available in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code. It is extremely easy for professors to discover work plagiarized from web sources -- they know how to use Google at least as well as you do, and there are many online tools available specifically to help educators detect plagiarized work.

Duke's Style Manual Guide

The art librarians at Duke have set out to provide a list of Bibliography and Footnotes examples:

See the guide here.....examples also copied (with permission) below

Style Manual for Art History (Chicago Manual of Style)

B = bibliography   F = footnote

Book

B Weisenfeld, Gennifer S.  Mavo: Japanese Artists and the Avant-Garde, 1905-1931. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002.

F 1.  Gennifer S. Weisenfeld, Mavo: Japanese Artists and the Avant-Garde, 1905-1931 (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2002), 76.

 

Exhibition Catalog [most often, treat it as a book]

B Schoonmaker, Trevor.  The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl. Durham, NC: Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University, 2010.

F 1.  Trevor Schoonmaker, The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl (Durham, NC: Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University, 2010), 100-101.

 

Corpus

B Packard, Pamela M. and Paul A. Clement, eds. Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: The Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Fascicule 1 [USA Fascicule 18]. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977.

F 1. Pamela M. Packard and Paul A. Clement, eds. Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: The Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Fascicule 1 [USA Fascicule 18] (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977), 21, pl. 19, figs. 3-5.

 

Catalogue Raisonné

When citing the whole book in the bibliography

Andy Warhol Prints: A Catalogue Raisonné. New York: Abbeville Press, 1985.

When citing one entry in the notes

F 1. Andy Warhol, “Saint Apollonia 1984,” in Andy Warhol Prints: A Catalogue Raisonné (New York: Abbeville Press, 1985), 192, fig. IIB.330-333.

 

 

Dissertation

B Walker, LaNitra Michele.  “Pictures that Satisfy: Modernist Discourses and the Politics of Race, Gender, and Nation in the Art of Irma Stern (1894--1966).” (PhD diss., Duke University, 2009). Accessed October 12, 2010, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT 3351937).

F 1. LaNitra Michele Walker, “Pictures that Satisfy: Modernist Discourses and the Politics of Race, Gender, and Nation in the Art of Irma Stern (1894--1966)” (PhD diss., Duke University, 2009), accessed October 12, 2010, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT 3351937).

 

Book Review

B Ainsworth, Maryan W.  Review of Gerard David by Hans van Miegroet.  Art Bulletin, 72, no. 4 (December 1990): 649-654. 

F 1. Maryan W. Ainsworth, review of Gerard David by Hans van Miegroet, Art Bulletin, 72, no. 4 (December 1990): 652.

 

Edited Book – two editors

B Stiles, Kristine, and Peter Selz, eds. Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art:  a Sourcebook of Artists' Writings. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.

F 1. Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz, eds., Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art : a Sourcebook of Artists’ Writings (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996), 52.

If quoting a primary source in this book the entry would be:

B Stella, Frank. “The Pratt Lecture, 1960.” In Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art:  a Sourcebook of Artists' Writings, edited by Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz, 113-114. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.

F 1. Frank Stella, “The Pratt Lecture, 1960,” in Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: a Sourcebook of Artists’ Writings, ed. Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996), 112.

 

Essay in a Collection or Anthology

B Antliff, Mark, and Patricia Leighten.  “Primitive.” In Critical Terms for Art History, ,edited by  Robert Nelson and Richard Schiff, 217-233.  2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.

F 1. Mark Antliff and Patricia Leighten, “Primative,” in Critical Terms for Art History, ed. Robert Nelson and Richard Schiff, 2nd ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003), 225.


 

 

Journal Article – one author

B Dillon, Sheila.  “Figured Pilaster Capitals from Aphrodisias.” American Journal of Archaeology 101  (October 1997): 731-769.

F 1. Sheila Dillon, “Figured Pilaster Capitals from Aphrodisias,” American Journal of Archaeology 101 (October 1997): 744.

 

Journal Article – two authors

B Hargrove, June and Neil McWilliam.  “Introduction. “ Studies in the History of Art 68 (2005): 8-15.

F 1. June Hargrove and Neil McWilliam, “Introduction,” Studies in the History of Art 68 (2005): 9.

 

Newspaper

B Vogel, Carol.  “Duke Gets Gift for Art Museum.” New York Times , November 13,  1998.

F 1. Carol Vogel, “Duke Gets Gift for Art Museum,” New York Times, November 13, 1998, E36.

 

Unpublished Conference/lecture Presentation

B Antonaccio, Carla, Sheila Dillon, Jenifer Neils, and Tyler Jo Smith. “A Celebration of Classical Antiquities: A Conversation on the Collecting of Antiquities at Duke University.” Lecture given at the Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University, Durham, NC, November 17,2011.

F 1. Carla Antonaccio, Sheila Dillon, Jenifer Neils, and Tyler Jo Smith, “A Celebration of Classical Antiquities: A Conversation on the Collecting of Antiquities at Duke University” (lecture, Nasher Museum of Art, Duke University, Durham, NC,  November 17, 2011).

 

Published Conference Proceedings

B Antonaccio, Carla M.  "Lefkandi and Homer." In Homer's World: Fiction, Tradition, Reality edited by Øivind Andersen and Matthew Dickie, 5-28. Papers from the Norwegian Institute at Athens 3. Bergen: The Norwegian Institute at Athens, 1995.

F 1. Carla M. Antonaccio, “Lefkandi and Homer,” in Homer’s World: Fiction, Tradition, Reality, ed. Øivind Andersen and Matthew Dickie, Papers from the Norwegian Institute at Athens 3 (Bergen: The Norwegian Institute at Athens, 1995), 15.

 

Video/DVD/Media

B Powell, Richard J. The Life and Art of William H. Johnson. Wilton, CT: Reading & O’Reilly, 1991. Videocassette (VHS), 25 min.

F 1. Richard J. Powell, The Life and Art of William H. Johnson (Wilton, CT: Reading & O’Reilly, 1991), VHS.

 

Digital Repository

B Haggis, Donald C. “Azoria Project Archive.”  Accessed August 20, 2012, https://cdr.lib.unc.edu/record?id=uuid%3a1add9fbc-f5c4-49a8-848e-96a52e3ade9c

F 1. Donald C. Haggis, “Azoria Project Archive,” accessed August 20, 2012, https://cdr.lib.unc.edu/record?id=uuid%3a1add9fbc-f5c4-49a8-848e-96a52e3ade9c

 

Free Database

B Sorensen, Lee.  “Spencer, John R[ichard].”  Dictionary of Art Historians. Accessed March 11, 2011, www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/spencerj.htm .

F 1. Lee Sorensen, “Spencer, John R[ichard],” Dictionary of Art Historians, accessed March 11, 2011, www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/spencerj.htm .

 

Library Database

B Bruzelius, Caroline. “The Construction of Notre Dame in Paris.” The Art Bulletin 60, no. 4 (December 1987): 540-69. Accessed August 17, 2012, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3050998.

F 1. Caroline Bruzelius, “The Construction of Notre Dame in Paris,” The Art Bulletin 60, no. 4 (December 1987): 544, accessed August 17, 2012, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3050998.

  

Prepared by Christine Bachman, August, 2012

EndNote

EndNote is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.

Zotero

Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322