Skip to main content

ARTHIST495RW: Art History Honors

As serious researchers at the Honors level, it’s important that you begin to branch out from basic search strategies and think more broadly about the wide range of ways in which you can build your honors bibliograph

Finding Primary Sources Using Library of Congress Subject Headings

Click on the link below to learn the different subheadings to locate relevant primary sources for your research topics.

Primary Sources in Library Databases

Following is a SELECT list of databases that illustrate the breadth of primary resources available via library research databases.  Find other primary source databases relevant for your research via:

 

Databases@Emory

Use the "Find by Category" pull-down menu and select Archives and Primary Sources.  Primary source databases are also listed in relevant Subject categories.

Woodruff Library's Research Guides

Tips on databases and other resources relevant for research in specific subjects.

Ask a subject librarian!

 

AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS & NEWS SOURCES

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Historical full text coverage of 16 major and African American newspapers - coverage dates vary widely. To search the New York Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World and other ProQuest historical papers:

  • Click on one of the above newspaper links
  • Click on the "Select Multiple Databases" link on the search page
  • Scroll down to the Historical Databases option and check titles you want to include in your search
  • Click on CONTINUE
  • Proceed with your search

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800's)

Accessible Archives (1800's) - major African American newspapers and more

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present)

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe (1980's-present)

ProQuest Civil War Era (1840-1865)

Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University (1968-present)

 

BRITISH NEWSPAPERS

Civil War in America from the Illustrated London News (1861-1865)

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1601-1800)

19th Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive (19th century)

Historical Times of India (1838-2001)

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

 

HISTORICAL MAGAZINES

American Periodical Series Online (1690-mid-1900's)

British Periodicals I (1691-1937)

HarpWeek (1857-1912)  Digital version of Harper's Weekly

Opinion Archives (coverage dates vary)  Digital versions of major U.S. public opinion magazines

Nation Digital Archive (1865-2002)  Digital version of The Nation

Eighteenth Century Journals (1685-1815)

 

ORAL HISTORIES & OTHER PERSONAL NARRATIVES

North American Women's Letters & Diaries (Colonial era-1950)

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries & Oral Histories (1840-present)

Oral History Online (1930-present) 

 

U.S. GOVERNMENT SOURCES

American State Papers (1789-1838) - Federal legislative and executive documents

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1975) - reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House

Proquest Congressional (1789-present) - hearings, reports, Congressional Record, bills, laws, Statutes at Large, legislative histories

Lexis Nexis Digital Hearings Collection (1824-2003)

 

BRITISH GOVERNMENT SOURCES

British Parliamentary Papers - Emory has online access to parliamentary papers for the 18th and 19th Centuries as well as state papers for the 16th, 17th and a small portion of the 18th century. In addition, we have Parliamentary Papers and many other British government publications - as well as indexes to them - in print or microformat. 

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) (1688-2014)

State Papers Online (1509-1782)

British History Online
A variety of British primary sources including an extensive collection of the Calendars of State Papers.

Useful resources for British Parliamentary research:

 
Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900
CALL NO: Z2019 .C63
LOCATION: Reference Collection, Level 2

 

BOOKS & OTHER PUBLISHED SOURCES:

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

Early English Books Online (1400's-1600's)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (18th century)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (19th Century)

 

 

Primary Sources on the Web

Thanks to a number of major digitization initiatives, MANY published sources (books, journals, etc.) are now freely available via digital web repositories. Most of these materials are in the public domain - i.e. not copyright-protected.  For the U.S. this means titles published prior to 1922; copyright "cutoff" dates vary for other countries.  Googling by title or author will likely retrieve materials in these digital repositories, but you can also search their contents individually.  Notable examples:

 

There are a gazillion good websites containing digital primary sources, but evaluate carefully what you find (see box to the left). If you know of a library, archival repository or other institution that holds resources relevant for your research, check their website to see if they've digitized anything.  There are also some good "all-purpose" sites, for example:

Finding Primary Sources via discoverE

Use discoverE to find published primary sources in Emory's libraries, including:

Look for works by individuals, associations, or other groups directly involved with the topic you are researching by searching for their names as AUTHORS. 

 

Try adding one or more of the following search terms to your search:

autobiographies

diaries

autobiography

personal narratives

biography

sources

captivity narratives

speeches

correspondence

pamphlets

 

Examples: 

sioux and biography

japanese internment and (sources or personal narratives)  

TIP:  You can also ask the library reference staff for help in refining your search strategy.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322