Skip to main content

ARTHIST495RW: Art History Honors

As serious researchers at the Honors level, it’s important that you begin to branch out from basic search strategies and think more broadly about the wide range of ways in which you can build your honors bibliograph

What if Emory doesn't have what I need?

Place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request and we'll get the item for you; takes several days, so plan ahead. More about Interlibrary Loan

Use your EmoryCard to borrow materials yourself from Georgia Tech, Georgia State University, and the University of Georgia (Athens), OR ...

... ask for an interlibrary use card at the Woodruff reference desk to borrow materials from other Atlanta area colleges. More about Interlibrary Use

 

Databases

Full-text (general) 

Academic Search Complete (dates vary) Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a large number of journals.

JSTOR (dates vary) JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project MUSE (dates vary) Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others

SUBJECT databases

Art and Architecture Source  Indexes articles (some full text) from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. CLICK BOTH ART FULL TEXT AND ART INDEX RETROSPECTIVE to search everything at once.

ARTbibliographies Modern Abstracts an international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews includes literature on painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.

Artnet Artnet searches two databases (Fine and Decorative Art Price archives) from over 500 international auction houses.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.

DYABOLA Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65). It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion.

Bibliography of the History of ArtContains records from material published between 1929-2007, describing the literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals. Produced by the Getty l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST). BHA incorporates the art indexes RILA (International Reportory of the Literature of Art) and RAA Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie).
 

Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals The only online index to art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century. The 42 journals indexed represent a nearly complete coverage of art journals from this period full text, although users can access bibliographic information for all of the journals.

International Bibliography of Art International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and indexes core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. The IBA’s focus is European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.

Periodicals Index Online An electronic index to millions of articles published in 4,079 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Annee Philologique An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.

International Medieval Bibliography The International Medieval Bibliography is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Indexing begins in 1967 and the database regularly covers some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues).

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500)

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Includes information about Latin Americans in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include politics and government, business, economic development and policy issues, gender studies, environmental issues, history, anthropology, religion, art, literature, drama, and film

What about Google Scholar?

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources and can be a useful first step. If you install the Libx add-on in your FireFox browser, LibX will insert an Emory LibX "cue" that links you to Emory libraries' print and electronic resources from your search results in Google Scholar and other select web tools.  Click on the link to see if something is available at or through Emory.

Be aware, however, that Google Scholar only searches a small subset of materials you can identify via "library" databases like those listed above. AND in most cases it doesn't provide full text, which you'll end up retrieving from library sources anyway.

Evaluating Sources

QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF:

  • Have you used a variety of sources?  Compare and contrast the information you find with several authors and and array of sources such as books, journal articles, and dissertations. Comparing and contrasting information will help you identify any bias and enhance the validity and reliability of your research.
  • What are the author's qualifications and affiliation (i.e., where does the author work)?
  • What is the date of the publication? Is the information out-of-date for your topic?
  • Who's published it?  Is it a university press -- in which case the material is more likely to be scholarly?  Is the publisher of a website an educational institution (.edu site) or a commercial or organizational entity (.com or .org site) -- which may give you insight into potential biases?
  • Is the information valid and well-researched?  That is, are the author's ideas supported with research documented by footnotes, a bibliography, and/or a works cited page?
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322