Skip to main content

FILM 503 - Censorship in Film and Television - Fall 2017

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Recommended Databases for Film & Media Articles

The Databases @ Emory page contains a broad selection of databases which may contain film-related articles. The most useful citation databases and indexes for Film and Media Studies are listed below.

TRY THESE DATABASES FIRST

Film and Television Literature with Full Text. Covers hundreds of academic journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals pertaining to film, television and the entertainment industry. Includes full text access for a number of titles. IMPORTANT NOTE: the older Variety film reviews in the “Variety Film Reviews” module are redacted and often have incorrect publication dates listed. This problem does not affect more recent Variety film reviews in the main portion of the database. For a more complete and accurate collection of older Variety film reviews, use the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive database. Film Literature Index Online, a free online version the original version of this index, only covers articles published 1976-2001. 

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present). Major index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

 

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary). Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in Film Studies, history, economics, and other fields. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to a few years prior to the current year. For recent journal issues, you should check other databases in addition to JSTOR.

MLA International Bibliography  (1963 to present). Film coverage begins in 1974. After that it is listed under "Cinema." This online version, with its keyword searching capability, may identify articles on film not specifically indexed as such.

Project Muse (ca. 1990 to present). Full text of forty journals, among them Wide Angle, Cinema Journal, Postmodern Culture, Modernism/Modernity.

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present)
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971. (1975)

This print publication acts a predecessor to International Index to Film Periodicals, above. It takes the indexing of basically the same journals back to 1930.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322