Skip to main content

PSYC 210: Abnormal Psychology - Fall 2017 - Delawalla

Look Up Disorders in the DSM (DIagnostic and Statistical Manual)

Find Articles

Databases for Psychology Research
Search databases to find journal articles. The following list of databases index articles from scholarly psychology journals.

Try these databases first:

***PsycINFO

PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide. 

PsycCRITIQUES

PsycCRITIQUES is a database of full-text reviews of current books, some popular films, and comparative reviews of books.

***PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

PsycARTICLES offers full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. It is a subset of its parent database, PsycINFO. Updated daily.

Web of Science

A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index

***Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

This database covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Primary Sources in Psychology

The University of Vermont Writing Center provides an excellent definition of a primary source in the discipline of psychology: 

"A primary source in psychological science is the study written by the experimenter(s). It should have an Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, References and Figures/Tables sections and be written in such a way that the study itself could be replicated based upon the report."

An empirical article, also referred to as an empirical study, is a common type of primary source in psychology. Empirical studies are published in academic journals and you can find them by searching through journals directly or by searching in databases, which contain journal content. 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322