Skip to main content

AFS 389 / HIS 385/ AAS 385 Race & the Global War: Africa During World War II: Other Primary Sources

This Guide is intended to help students with their research for Professor Twagira's 2017 Fall Course.

British Parliamentary Papers

Emory Libraries has purchased access to British Parliamentary Papers , providing coverage from 1688 up to the 2013/14 session of parliament.

The British Parliamentary Papers provides full-text search of the following resources:

  • House of Commons Sessional Papers, including
    • House of Commons Papers
    • Command Papers
    • Bills
    • Reports of Committees (pre-1979 only)
    • Reports of Commissioners (pre-1979 only)
    • Accounts and Papers (pre-1979 only)

 

  • Other materials relating to parliamentary business, including
    • House of Lords Papers (1714-1805)
    • Private and Local Bills and Acts (1695-1834)
    • Journals of the House of Commons (1688-1834)
    • Journals of the House of Lords (1685-1834)
    • Debates (1774-1805)
    • Histories and Proceedings (1660-1743)
    • House of Commons Hansard (1803-2005)
    • House of Lords Hansard (1803-2005)

British Online Archives

British Online Archives contains a variety of of government documents including selected Blue Books for various colonies. Blue Books are important annual documents containing statistics and the general status of each colony prepared by the colonial governor.

US Congress Documents

Proquest Congressional   Database of congressional information and publications, some full-text, including congressional hearings, reports, the Congressional Record, public laws, and Statutes at Large.  -- Try limiting your searches to years 1934-1945   --  Terms such Ethiopia, "West Africa" and War

 

British Foreign Office Records

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966   provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa. To limit your search to War War II African materials  -- Go to the Advanced Search Function -- Limit your search to Collection "Confidential Print: Africa" and Date "1934-1945."

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322