Skip to main content

AFS 389 / HIS 385/ AAS 385 Race & the Global War: Africa During World War II: Articles -- Secondary Sources

This Guide is intended to help students with their research for Professor Twagira's 2017 Fall Course.

Databases -- Africa Specific

Africa-Wide: NiPAD Includes 17 databases from three continents resulting in a database of 3.2 million references (some with abstracts). Includes books, periodical articles, maps and musical recordings. Among the databases included are IBICUS (development information from Francophone Africa) African Studies Abstracts (and its earlier title) from 1988, and the School of Oriental and African Studies Library Catalogue: Africa from 1989. Updated quarterly

 

Africa Bibliography. Covering mainly the social sciences and humanities, this extensive annual listing of books, essays, and articles offers the latest publications in African studies (entire continent). Covers approximately 600 journals. Arrangement is geographical and by subject. Contains an author and subject index.

 

Other Databases

Black Studies Center Unique database combining the  International Index to Black Periodicals, Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Literature Index 1827-1940 and historically black newspapers.

Historical Abstracts is one of the two primary databases for History; indexes articles, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322