Skip to main content

Good Bodies (ANT 190)

Dr. Liv Nilsson Stutz, Fall 2017

Search Tips

  • Try different keywords and search terms using different databases and catalogs. Every database is different so some keywords and search terms work for one database but not for another.
  • Expand your search by:
    • including synonyms and plural/singular forms of keywords. Separate synonyms by OR. Separate the synonyms from the rest of the words by using parentheses.
    • use truncation symbols (or wildcard symbols) to search variations of your search terms (e.g. scien$ for sciences, scientific, scientfically, etc.) See truncation guide for truncation symbols.
  • Narrow your search by:
    • combining different concepts/search terms with AND
    • using the limit functions of the database. Look in the database's HELP function to discover the limit functions it offers. Possibilities include limiting by date, language, type of article, etc.
  • Keep a record of what search terms work and which databases work for your topic. This can help you from repeating your steps.
  • Did you find an article you really like? Then, read the cited references (a.k.a. bibliography, end notes, footnotes) to find similar articles. This can bias your project by focusing on only one side of an issue so use caution with this method.
  • Ask for help. Ask a librarian for search tips. Also, use the help screens in the databases for instructions and tips.

Citing Your Sources

For this class you will be using the Chicago Style of citation. Visit the Chicago Manual of Style webpage for information on how to apply this style. The Quick Guide is full of examples.

The Emory Libraries Citing Your Sources Guide provides information about why to cite sources, how to avoid plagiarism, how to avoid common mistakes, and a list of style manuals. Anthropologists also frequently use the American Psychological Association Style (APA), or the American Journal of Physical Anthropology Style.

You can also visit websites with basic guidelines on how to use common style formats. Some good websites include:

If you are using a citation manager (e.g. Endnote or Zotero), just select the appropriate output style. The citation manager should automatically format your citations and bibliography, but don't forget to check it!

Citation Software

Try using EndNote or Zotero software to organize your citations and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies. Emory has a site license for EndNote and you can obtain a free copy by downloading the software from Emory's Software Express site (Emory network ID required). Mendeley, Papers, and Citavi are other popular software options.

For help with EndNote or Zotero, visit the Library's Help Guides or sign up for one of the classes we offer throughout the semester.

Writing Center

Emory's Writing Center provides thoughtful one-on-one attention and feedback at any stage of the writing process.

Sessions with tutors are available by appointment or during walk-in hours.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322