Skip to main content

Archive and Library Grants

Specialized Libraries and Historical Societies

Short Term Visiting Academic Research Fellowships 
The American Antiquarian Society offers short-term visiting academic research fellowships tenable for one to two months each year. 
 
Library and Museum Fellowships 
One- to two-month fellowships are available for Ph.D. candidates, holders of the Ph.D., and degreed independent scholars, within any field of study that requires using the collections of the APS Library.
 
David Library Fellowships
The David Library offers monnth-long residential fellowships to qualified post-doctoral researchers and Ph. D. candidates
 
Huntington Fellowships
Awards for doctoral candidates who have advanced to candidacy (ABD) at the time of the application deadline for one to five months of study.
 
Folger Fellowships
Awards short-term fellowships for residencies of one to three months. 
 
Library Reserach Grants
Getty Library Research Grants provide partial, short-term support for researchers requiring the use of specific collections housed in the Getty Research Institute (GRI).
 
Short Term Fellowships
Awards approximately twenty-five one-month fellowships for research in residence in either or both collections during the academic year 2017-2018. 
Short-Term Research Fellowships
Offers more than 20 short-term research fellowships in 2018. Each grant will provide a stipend of $2,000 for four weeks of research at the Society
 
Short Term Research Fellowships
Fellowships support scholars from outside the New York metropolitan area engaged in graduate-level, post-doctoral, and independent research. Fellowship stipends are $1,000 per week for a minimum of two and maximum of four weeks.  
 
Library Fellowships
Fellowship to spend at least four weeks in New York City, working at The New York Academy of Medicine. 
 
Short Term Fellowships
Fellowships available for one month with a stipend of $2,500 per month.
 
Research Stipend Program
Competitive research stipend program provides awards of up to $4000 for reimbursement of receipted expenses for travel and accommodation in conjunction with research conducted at the RAC.

 

College and University Archives

Library Research Fellowship Program – Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection​
The Library Research Fellowship Program support the use of the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection by fellows for scholarly research in Hellenic studies while in residence in Sacramento. The Program provides a limited number of fellowships ranging from $1,000 to $4,000.
 
Visiting Fellow Program
The Charles Redd Center for Western Studies at Brigham Young University invites applications for its Visiting Fellow Program in Western Studies each academic year.
 
Summer Research Fellowship​
The M. Louise Carpenter Gloeckner, M.D. Summer Research Fellowship is offered annually by the Legacy Center at Drexel University College of Medicine. A $4,000 stipend is awarded to one applicant for self-directed research using the Center's Women in Medicine Collection. 
 
Rubenstein Library Grants & Fellowships
Duke University’s Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library and its research centers provide travel grants of up to $1,000 for researchers whose work would benefit from access to the collections held at Duke. Currently, travel grants are available for the following research centers: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and Culture, John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, History of Medicine, Human Rights Archive.
 
Research Support Grants
The Schlesinger Library invites scholars and other serious researchers at any career stage beyond graduate school to apply for support for their work in our collections. Grants of up to $3,000 will be given on a competitive basis.
Short-Term Research Fellowships 
Fellowship to do research in Houghton library collections. The stipend for each fellowship is $3,600.
 
LSU Libraries Special Collections Research Grant
LSU fellowship offers two travel grants of $1000 each for use of their collections.
 
Travel Grants
The Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections offers travel grants to non-local researchers and scholars who wish to conduct research in the Archives. 
 
Research Grants
The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections and the Friends of the Princeton University Library offer several short-term research grants and prizes and awards, which have a value of up to $4,000 plus transporations costs
 
Fellowships
Offers competitive fellowships and support of up to $2,500 to support research based on our collections.
 
Library and Museum Fellowships 
Competitive fellowships for graduate students or postdoctoral scholars who need to use these collections for graduate-level or postdoctoral independent research. Recipients receive a stipend of $2,500/month for fellowships lasting up to three months. 
 
Grants & Fellowships
Each academic year, the library awards five grants to assist researchers who wish to come use our collections in person ranging from $1,000 - 1,200 dollars. They include the John Eugene and Barbara Hilton Cay Visiting Scholar Grant ($1,000) to support projects examining the literary culture or traditions of the American South, The Guion Griffis Johnson Visiting Scholar Grant ($1,000) for projects examining women in the American South, The Parker-Dooley Visiting Scholar Grant ($1,000) to support projects examining North Carolina’s history, the Carlyle Sitterson Visiting Scholar Grant ($1,000) for projects examining the Antebellum American South.The Joel Williamson Visiting Scholar Grant ($1,200) supporting projects examining African Americans or race relations in the American South
 
​Summer Fellowships
Fellowship to conduct research during the summer months at the South Caroliniana Library.  Applicants must be conducting research in South Carolina history.
 
Smith Travel Award
Five fellowships of up to $1,000.00 each will be given to conduct in-depth research in the holdings of the Briscoe Center.
Visiting Graduate Student Fellowships
The Beinecke Library offers a limited number of fellowships for non-Yale graduate students (doctoral candidates) wishing to conduct primary research for their dissertations or doctoral thesis. 
 

Presidential and Congressional Archives

 

Congressional Research Grants
Fund research on congressional leadership and the U.S. Congress. Capped at $3,500.
 
Research Travel Grants
The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation awards grants of up to $2,200 each in support of research in the holdings of the Gerald R. Ford Library.
 
Moody Research Grant
The LBJ Foundation awards a limited number of grants for research at the LBJ Library from $600 to $3,000.

Consortia/ Regional Partnerships

 

Short-Term Summer Fellowships
The BMRC Short-Term Summer Fellowship Program is made possible by the generous support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
 
A collaboration of 25 major cultural agencies, that offers at least 20 awards in 2018–2019. Each grant will provide a stipend of $5,000 for a minimum of eight weeks of research at participating institutions.
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322