Skip to main content

AFS 263 / IDS 285 Introduction to African Studies: Article Databases

This guide is designed to help students in Professor Twagira's Fall 2017 Semester class

Places to Start

 Academic Search Complete (dates vary) Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a large number of journals.

Africa article Databases

Africa-Wide: NiPAD   Includes 17 databases from three continents resulting in a database of 3.2 million references (some with abstracts). Includes books, periodical articles, maps and musical recordings.

Africa Bibliography. Covering mainly the social sciences and humanities, this extensive annual listing of books, essays, and articles offers the latest publications in African studies (entire continent).

Other Article Databases

Global Health (CABI), 1973-date (Emory only) Provides international coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.

Women's Studies International   Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies up to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Surature.

 

World Bank eLibrary (Emory only) The World Bank eLibrary is a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322