Skip to main content

AFS 263 / IDS 285 Introduction to African Studies: Newsources

This guide is designed to help students in Professor Twagira's Fall 2017 Semester class

Newspapers

Access World News includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts. Dates vary.

Proquest Newspapers (1851-2007) Past coverage of major US and  African American newspapers

African Sources

allAfrica.com provides current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997. Emory users have access to the Premium/Advanced Search engine.

PanaPress, continent-wide news organization headquartered in Dakar.

Africa South of the Sahara.com Stanford University Library website -- Guide to news sources by country.

 

Other

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Full-Text complements World News Connection below and covers 1941-1996.The Daily Reports include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world, including Africa. They focus on political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world..

World News Connection is a foreign news service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, including Africa. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events . Goes back to 1994-ends in 2013.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322