Skip to main content

FILM 406 - Columbia Pictures - Bernstein

How to Access Variety

Variety has long been the leading trade publication of the entertainment industry. Depending on what years you are researching, a few different sources are available. 

1905-2000: Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

  • To limit your search just to Variety, use the “Advanced Search” function and enter Variety as the “Publication Title.” 

Alternative for the Classical Hollywood Studio EraMedia History Digital Library

  • Offers free and open access for the years 1905-1954, as well as access to a number of other trade journals.

1990s - PresentNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe).

  • Offers full-text access, but does not preserve the look and layout of the original publication. In the basic search mode, click the button "A Publication," enter your search terms, and select Variety (Penske) or Daily Variety as the publication title.

Daily Variety: The Woodruff Library also has access to the Daily Variety archives. Ask James Steffen for information about how to access. You must be a current Emory student or faculty member.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Proquest's Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive includes full-text searching and access for key trade newspapers in theater, film, broadcast media and music, among them the much-requested Variety. The database is primarily historical in focus; coverage extends to the year 2000. For more recent content in the same journals, check eJournals @ Emory (http://ejournals.emory.edu/).

Titles available in the database include:

  • American Film (Archive: 1975-1992)
  • Back Stage (Archive: 1960-2000)
  • The Billboard (Archive: 1894-1960)
  • Billboard (Archive: 1963-2000)
  • Boxoffice (Archive: 1920-2000)
  • Broadcasting, Combined With Broadcast Advertising (Archive: 1933-1936)
  • Broadcasting, Broadcast Advertising (Archive: 1936-1945)
  • Broadcasting, Telecasting (Archive: 1945-1957)
  • Broadcasting (Archive: 1957-1993)
  • Broadcasting & Cable (Archive: 1993-2000)
  • Contrast (Archive: 1961-1966)
  • The Independent Film Journal (Archive: 1937-1979)
  • The Film Journal (Archive: 1979-1996)
  • Music America Magazine (Archive: 1976-1977)
  • Musician, Player, and Listener (Archive: 1977-1982)
  • Musician (Archive: 1982-1999)
  • New Musical Express (Archive: 1952-2000)
  • Radio & Records (Archive: 1973-1993)
  • R & R (Archive: 1994-2000)
  • Screen international (Archive: 1976-2000)
  • Spin (Archive: 1985-2000)
  • The Stage (Archive: 1880-1959)
  • The Stage and Television Today (Archive: 1959-1994)
  • The Stage (Archive: 1995-2000)
  • Variety (Archive: 1905-2000)

Please note that Proquest is still in the process of adding content. For example, as of November 2012 coverage of Variety extends only from 1951-1975. They will be digitizing and indexing more issues in the coming months, until the archive is complete as listed above.

Media History Digital Library

Media History Digital Library

The Media History Digital Library is an open-access collection of digitized media industry trade papers and fan magazines. In addition to high quality image scans of individual issues, it includes full-text searching. Many of these periodicals are not fully indexed or searchable elsewhere. Publications reproduced include:

  • Business Screen (1938-1973)
  • The Film Daily (1918-1936)
  • International Photographer (1929-1941)
  • Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers (1930-1949)
  • Journal of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (1950-1954)
  • The Educational Screen (1922-1962)
  • Moving Picture World (1912-1918)
  • Photoplay (1917-1940)
  • Radio Age: Research, Manufacturing, Communications, Broadcasting, Television (1942-1957)
  • Radio Broadcast (1922-1930)
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322